The Accident – CL Taylor

514WUxG0qdL

The Accident was published by Avon on 10 April 2014 and is available to purchase here

‘A rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists’ Daily Mail

KEEPING THIS SECRET WAS KILLING HER…

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep …

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?

Fast-paced, suspenseful, this is a book with more twists than a helter-skelter. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.

My thoughts

Charlotte is fifteen and lying in a coma, after walking in front of a bus. Sue, her mum, finds out Charlotte is hiding secrets and becomes determined to find out the truth. What made Charlotte choose death over life? We find out about Sue’s past and how she survived domestic abuse. Sue’s past has relevance to the present. 

A really enjoyable solid psychological crime read, that has themes of domestic violence and secrecy. I was pleased to see it was set in Brighton!!!!! It wasn’t overly sentimental in the way it portrayed a mother fighting for her child, which I approve of.

For me, the outstanding part of the story came from Sue and her history with James. I thought it was particularly well told, believable and rather sad. 

I could imagine this as a drama on TV. Thank you to everyone who recommended it to me!!!!

 

 

Advertisements

About Northern Crime

Reviewer with a mind of her own. This is a collection of book reviews, which started in 2014. Mostly crime and odd other genres thrown in. Some I loved. Some I loathed. You get the picture.
This entry was posted in psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.