The Book of You – Claire Kendal

51yCRh0pO-L._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

The Book of You was published by Harper Collins on 1 January 2015 and is available to purchase here

Sunday Times top ten bestseller and Richard & Judy pick, The Book of You is a terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won’t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there.

Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can’t be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand.

Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them – and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep.

 

My thoughts

Clarissa has a stalker. Rafe is everywhere, befriending her friends and sending her constant text messages and gifts. She starts to keep a diary of the abuse logging every detail. At the same time, Clarissa is called to jury service and has to listen to a case that sounds painfully familiar. She gets an insight into how her case would be treated in court and how hard this would be to go through.

This was quite an emotional gripping read. Slowly we learn the details of how Clarissa met Rafe and how he had developed an intense obsession with her. We get to feel the oppression and the fear, as experienced by Clarissa. The diary extracts written in the first person, bring home how harrowing this is. I really enjoyed the court scenes, as Clarissa was making sense of her own ordeal.

The one thing that struck me was how I couldn’t understand Clarissa’s failure to confide in anyone. Surely if you are going through a nightmare like this, you would want to share it with someone?

Worth a read!!

 

Advertisements

About Northern Crime

Reviewer with a mind of her own. This is a collection of book reviews, which started in 2014. Mostly crime and odd other genres thrown in. Some I loved. Some I loathed. You get the picture.
This entry was posted in psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.