The Book of You – Claire Kendal

A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep.

Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won’t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there.

Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can’t be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand.

Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them – and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

But how do you protect yourself from an enemy no one else can see?

bookofyouclare

 

My thoughts

Published April 2014

Clarissa has a stalker. Rafe is everywhere, befriending her friends and sending her constant text messages and gifts. She starts to keep a diary of the abuse logging every detail. At the same time, Clarissa is called to jury service and has to listen to a case that sounds painfully familiar. She gets an insight into how her case would be treated in court and how hard this would be to go through.

This was quite an emotional gripping read. Slowly we learn the details of how Clarissa met Rafe and how he had developed an intense obsession with her. We get to feel the oppression and the fear, as experienced by Clarissa. The diary extracts written in the first person, bring home how harrowing this is. I really enjoyed the court scenes, as Clarissa was making sense of her own ordeal.

The one thing that struck me was how I couldn’t understand Clarissa’s failure to confide in anyone. Surely if you are going through a nightmare like this, you would want to share it with someone?

Worth a read!!

 

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s