Cop Town – Karin Slaughter

Cop Town was published on 7 July 2014 by Cornerstone Digital and is available to buy here

Image

Image

 

Atlanta, 1974: As a brutal murder and a furious manhunt rock the city’s police department, Kate Murphy wonders if her first day on the job will also be her last. She’s determined to defy her privileged background by making her own way—wearing a badge and carrying a gun. But for a beautiful young woman, life will be anything but easy in the macho world of the Atlanta PD, where even the female cops have little mercy for rookies. It’s also the worst day possible to start given that a beloved cop has been gunned down, his brothers in blue are out for blood, and the city is on the edge of war.

Kate isn’t the only woman on the force who’s feeling the heat. Maggie Lawson followed her uncle and brother into the ranks to prove her worth in their cynical eyes. When she and Kate, her new partner, are pushed out of the citywide search for a cop killer, their fury, pain, and pride finally reach the boiling point. With a killer poised to strike again, they will pursue their own line of investigation, risking everything as they venture into the city’s darkest heart.

Relentlessly paced, acutely observed, wickedly funny, and often heartbreaking, Cop Town is Karin Slaughter’s most powerful novel yet—a tour de force of storytelling from our foremost master of character, atmosphere, and suspense.

My thoughts

A massive thanks to Dead Good Reads for sending me a proof copy!!! You made my day. I did not know how I would manage to wait until July, without dying of impatience.

I’ve been a huge fan of Karin Slaughter’s for absolutely years. I loved her Grant County books with Sara Linton and Jeffrey Tolliver. And Will Trent is one of my favourite all time characters. I adore the man. I thought the 1970s scenes in ‘Criminal’ were totally fascinating, and am so chuffed that Karin Slaughter decided to explore this further.

Cop Town is set in 1975 in Atlanta. We get two very different women, as leads; Kate Murphy, a widowed newbie police officer and Maggie Lawson, who comes from a family of cops. Kate is in her first week and Maggie has been on the job for years. This is an environment where sexism, racism and every sort of ism is prevalent and explicit. It is refreshing, in a weird sort of way and at the same time, brutal and cruel. Women are not really welcome, in the macho, patriarchal police force. Discrimination on account of race, gender and religion and class, are the norm. Kate is rather well-to-do, so there are class differences added to this complicated mix.

‘The Shooter’ is on the prowl in the city, targetting cops indiscriminately. The book starts with Jimmy Lawson carrying his shot and dying partner to Grant County hospital Accident and Emergency. Jimmy is Maggie’s brother. She soon finds herself drawn into the murder investigation and doing a spot of detective work, along with Kate. Who is ‘The Shooter’ and will Kate be able to last the week in the harsh police environment?

WOW!!! This book totally and completely exceeded my expectations. I knew it would be fantastic and it was. Strong female leads plus a gritty and exciting plot. I loved both Kate and Maggie, and was willing Kate to find her feet and bond with her partner. I was drawn into the dark world of 1970s Atlanta and didn’t want it to end. I wanted to go back in time and to be there. I wanted to slap the sexist police officers and stand up to the nasty bullying.

To anyone who hasn’t read a Karin Slaughter, you really should. She NEVER disappoints. This is an excellent introduction, if you are a complete newbie to Karin and her books.

I want more Kate and Maggie. Fingers crossed! (And more Will and Sara, of course).

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cop Town – Karin Slaughter

  1. I absolutely LOVE Karin Slaughter and can’t wait for this book. Now I’ve read this I’m even more antsy about waiting! 🙂

  2. Christine says:

    Me too. You will LOVE this one. She is one of my most favourite authors. I am missing my Will though. Might have to re-read a few.

  3. crimeworm says:

    I’ve sort of got lost as to where I am in her books – loved the first few Grant County ones, then was devastated when they killed Jeffrey off. Think I got confused after that and (sorry!) I couldn’t take to Will the same, although maybe I should’ve given him more of a chance. I also find it hard to remember the order of the books as the names are sort of similar, one word titles. Must figure them out and get up to date, although I think Cop Town will jump the queue…!

    • Christine says:

      Easy to get confused with a series. I’m forever checking author’s websites for that reason.

      I think the Atlanta series with Will is even better than the Grant County ones. All of the stories just seem that more hard hitting.

      I know what you mean about Jeffrey. But I think it was clever. I like Sara much more now and it was a brilliant decision to get Sara into Will Trent’s world. Although I want Karin to give her more to do.

      1. Triptych – my absolute fave!!
      2. Fractured
      3. Genesis aka Undone
      4 Broken
      5. Fallen
      6. Snatched
      7, Criminal
      8. Busted
      9. Unseen

      That’s the full list. A few are short stories on there (from memory).

      • crimeworm says:

        So it’s that the Atlanta series? Because one I read, early on, was called Blindsighted, and it was Sara and Jeffrey (though I think they were separated then?!)

      • Christine says:

        Blindsighted is the start of the Grant County series and Karin’s first book. It’s all about Sara, Jeffrey and Lena. Yes Sara and Jeffrey were separated, maybe divorced then (I can’t remember).

        From what you’ve said you have read all of those. We do catch up with Sara and Lena in the later books though.

Leave a Reply

