Pop goes the Weasel – M.J. Arlidge (Helen Grace #2)

 

DI Helen Grace returns in Pop Goes the Weasel, the electrifying new thriller from M. J. Arlidge.The body of a middle-aged man is discovered in Southampton’s red-light district – horrifically mutilated, with his heart removed.

Hours later – and barely cold – the heart arrives with his wife and children by courier.

A pattern emerges when another male victim is found dead and eviscerated, his heart delivered soon afterwards.

The media call it Jack the Ripper in reverse; revenge against the men who lead sordid double lives visiting prostitutes. For Grace, only one thing is certain: there’s a vicious serial-killer at large who must be halted at all costs . . .

Expected publication: September 11th 2014 by Penguin Books (UK)
pop
My thoughts
In ‘Eeny Meeny’, we met Helen Grace and followed her on a truly difficult and painful case. Helen is back and this time looking for a killer targetting men who use prostitutes, in the Southampton area. Helen is emotionally bruised from the events in the previous book and is trying to cope. She has a new boss and Charlie, one of her colleagues, is a painful reminder of past events. As more deaths take place, media pressure escalates and it becomes even more vital to solve the case.I picked this book up meaning to read a few chapters, but I ended up reading the whole thing. It really hooked me as a reader and I remembered how impressed I had been with ‘Eeny Meeny’. Now into the second book in the series, we really know Helen Grace. She is a lovely creation, with a dark past. The more I read about her, the more I like her. The plot has enough twists and turns and a dark murdery side to keep me happy. I really enjoyed it.

I do not think you can read this book, without having the secrets that came out in book one in mind. There are also too many spoilers. I would therefore recommend anyone who wants to read this bears this in mind. It is great though.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pop goes the Weasel – M.J. Arlidge (Helen Grace #2)

  1. I haven’t read Eeny Meeny but it keeps popping up on various recommended reads for me…. I will bear in mind this is a series where you really do need to start at the beginning though.

  2. Christine says:

    Yes you really do. I think it might even be confusing if you go straight into this one. Both books are fab though.

  3. crimeworm says:

    I have Eeny Meeny here – must get stuck into it! The follow-up actually sounds better.

Leave a Reply

