Hide and Seek (part one) – Amy Bird

hideandseekpartone

Out 11/9/14

Parts two and three to be published 18/9/14 and 25/9/14

My husband has a secret. He just doesn’t know it yet. It’s a secret that some would try to hide from him – and, until now, they’ve succeeded.

But I know Will.

I know he would want to discover the truth. Fortunately, I’m here to discover it for him.

Soon there’ll be no more hiding. There’ll be no more lies. And there will be a new start…for us all.

The compelling first part of Hide and Seek by Amy Bird: a new novel, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, SJ Watson and Liane Moriarty. Is finding the truth worth losing everything?

twitter_hideandseek

 

My thoughts

Thanks to Carina UK and Netgalley for my review copy of this book.

This is part one of a psychological thriller, with parts two and three being released over the next few weeks.

Ellie and Will are happily married, in their thirties and parents-to-be. Will’s parents, John and Gillian Spears, live near by and are frequent visitors. This appears to be an idyllic close family. They all seem to be excited by the prospect of a new baby.

Ellie finds a CD by a composer called Max Reigate at Gillian’s house and comments that Will looks like him. This opens up a can of worms. We get both Ellie’s and Will’s perspective, as they start to make sense of this. Sometimes within families, there are huge secrets just waiting to come out.

Part one introduces us to Ellie and Will. Pregnant Ellie is mischievous, sarcastic and incredibly inquisitive. As we hear her thoughts and motivations, it is hard at times to empathize with her. She doesn’t seem to think of the consequences of her actions. I loved her passive aggressive attitude to her in-laws. Will seems much more chilled out and is looking forward to becoming a dad.

I loved the way the issue of identity is used by Amy Bird. How one little thing, one piece of evidence can make us question everything about ourselves. It seems to wipe out shared history and love. I have no idea how this will develop in part two of the story.

In the book, secrets are slowly being revealed. We see the effect this has on everyone, in particular Will. I wonder if any of them will survive the fall out.

An enjoyable and intriguing short read, told from the perspectives of Ellie and Will.

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s