Hide and Seek (part two) – Amy Bird


Hide and Seek (part two)

To be published by UK Carina on 18th September 2014.

It’s been thirty years since it happened. A lifetime, for some. Yet I still hear his cries. I still feel eyes on me. Still hear the whispers: I know what you did.

I’ve spent so long hiding that I barely remember what it’s like to be seen – to be known for who you really are. But all that must stay where it’s buried. For better, for worse.

No-one can ever know what happened that day. And no-one ever will. Because they can seek all they want, but this is a secret I’ll take to my grave. No matter who comes knocking.

The chilling second part of Hide and Seek by Amy Bird: a new novel, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, SJ Watson and Liane Moriarty. Is finding the truth worth losing everything?


My thoughts

A big thanks to Netgalley and Sara Veal at Carina UK for a copy of the book.

I have no patience, when it comes to books. After reading part one of ‘Hide and Seek’ and becoming intrigued by the secrets and lies surrounding Will and his family, I was dying to read the next part.

Once again, Amy Bird crafts a fascinating and increasingly dark tale. We hear from Will and Ellie, as well as a third party. These three characters give us a real sense of the inevitability in the search for answers and how they are going to just cause pain. As the reader, you slowly start to work out what is going on. That secrets are kept for a reason.

Will is fascinated to the point of obsessed with Max, as he tries to discover everything about his life and death. Slowly his obsessiveness intensifies. Ellie is blissfully in ignorance of what her husband is going through emotionally. She has her own little mission. We see a close couple drift apart, as they start to keep their own secrets from each other. Ellie weaves increasingly unrealistic expectations about Will’s situation. The truth is finally revealed to Ellie by Will’s mother, Gillian. What will this do to Will and Ellie’s relationship?

I was really excited, as I was reading this. Amy Bird really intensifies and escalates the drama and the ending takes your breath away. Excellent and dark!


About Northern Crime

Reviewer with a mind of her own. This is a collection of book reviews, which started in 2014. Mostly crime and odd other genres thrown in. Some I loved. Some I loathed. You get the picture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s