Best crime novels 2014 (part two)

9. A Dark and Twisted Tide – Sharon Bolton

a dark and twisted tide

This is the latest ‘Lacey Flint’ novel, by the talented Sharon Bolton. This is crime writing at its best, with a fascinating lead in the mysterious Lacey Flint. Lacey is now working in the Marine Unit on London’s river Thames and she finds a body.

 

10. The Skeleton Road – Val McDermid

theskeletonroad

 

Val McDermid’s latest thriller is just fantastic. A skeleton found in Edinburgh links to the 1990s and the atrocities in the former Yugoslavia. I found it very moving, as the massacres and the siege of Dubrovnik were brought to life.

11. Long Way Home – Eva Dolan

evadolan

 

This debut by Eva Dolan is delicious,  very dark and contemporary. Murder in the immigrant population of Peterborough. A must read!

12. In the Blood – Lisa Unger

inthebloodlisa

 

‘In the Blood’  is about a troubled college student, Lana. We slowly get to know Lana and the mystery surrounding her. I thought the twist was clever and just perfect.

13. Tom Rob Smith -The Farm

thefarm

I’ve been a fan of Tom Rob Smith’s since ‘Child 44’ and ‘The Farm’ just blew me away. This time, we get secrets and lies within a tight-knit Swedish community. There is a lovely feeling of paranoia. Outstanding!

14. Jane Casey- The Kill

cover

 

This is the latest in the ‘Maeve Kerrigan’ series and it was a joy to read. For anyone who hasn’t discovered Jane Casey yet, do it now. The dialogue between her characters, Maeve and Derwent is just spectacular, witty and refreshing.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Best crime novels 2014 (part two)

  1. crimeworm says:

    I was about to say you’d missed out 13 -doh! Get it now!

  2. Christine says:

    Nope you were right! *hangs head in shame*

  3. Some more fantastic crime books! I recommend Jane Casey and Sharon Bolton to people all the time. I loved In The Blood and I have a copy of The Farm which must get pushed up the TBR as per your recommendation.

  4. crimeworm says:

    I wasn’t that fond of The Farm tbh, and it was nowhere near as good as Child 44. I did read it all, and fairly quickly, but I think it must just be me as it is on SO MANY “Best of…” round-ups for the year. Be interested to hear your thoughts on it Cleo.

  5. crimeworm says:

    Just checked – out in April. Tom Hardy’s the lead, Noomi Rapace his wife, and there’s also Joel Kinnaman (he was the male cop in the US version of The Missing), Gary Oldman, Vincent Cassel and Paddy Considine (I think he’s great!) Sounds really good. Have you read the other two books, The Secret Speech and (I think) Agent 6? I have them, somewhere. Well, I definitely spotted The Secret Speech the other day. I know they didn’t get raved about as much as Child 44, but I will read them – just wondered if you had, and if so, what you thought?

Leave a Reply

