No Other Darkness – Sarah Hilary (DI Marnie Rome #2)

no other darkness new version

To be published in April 2015 by Headline

Two young boys.

Trapped underground in a bunker.

Unable to understand why they are there.

Desperate for someone to find them.

Slowly realising that no-one will…

Five years later, the boys’ bodies are found and the most difficult case of DI Marnie Rome’s career begins.

Her only focus is the boys. She has to find out who they are and what happened to them.

For Marnie, there is no other darkness than this…

My thoughts

There is something incredibly exciting about reading a follow up book to the one you LOVED. At the beginning of the year, I fell in love with Marnie Rome and the wonderful writing style of Sarah Hilary. In ‘Someone Else’s Skin’, Sarah Hilary’s debut novel, we were introduced to DI Marnie Rome and her sidekick Noah Jake.

In ‘No Other Darkness’, Marnie and Noah are assigned to a case of two young boys hidden in a bunker and left to die. As with Hilary’s previous book, there is SO much more to this than missing children. We get more of Marnie’s past colliding with her present. We get a tale of over-whelming guilt and shame, from the agony of past events. At its heart, this book is about families and Sarah Hilary cleverly unpicks them, so we can see beneath the veneer. I am being deliberately vague. There is so much I can only hint at. So much, that impressed me as a reader. It is very clever.

What I loved about this book was Hilary’s attention to detail and character. She is a genius at sending the reader in one direction, while pointing clues in another. That is exactly what I want in a crime novel. I want to be fooled. I want to be googling things I have just read, to see if that is what people do in real life.

Her two main police detectives are just wonderful. The right mix of compassion and intellect.  Marnie is one of those characters, that you want to know more about. She is quite a jigsaw puzzle. An enigma. And I do have a soft spot for Noah Jake.

Anyone who loved ‘Someone Else’s Skin’ will not be disappointed with the new Marnie Rome. Sarah Hilary writes the best crime reads. Emotionally intelligent and compelling.

Totally and utterly recommended.

A massive thanks to Sarah Hilary and her publishers for sending me a review copy.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to No Other Darkness – Sarah Hilary (DI Marnie Rome #2)

  1. Nikki-ann says:

    I loved Someone Else’s Skin and this sounds like a good read too. One I’ll definitely have to add to my list. Thanks!

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. All the best for the new year! 🙂

  2. crimeworm says:

    Ha ha Christine! Did you crack and were unable to resist reading it? I managed to get a copy too, and intend to read it shortly, as I too am desperate to read it! Sounds great, thanks for whetting my appetite even more!

    • Christine says:

      It was calling to me to read it. It had to be done.

      I am SO glad you got a copy, Linda. It really is fantastic.

      • crimeworm says:

        This is one book I didn’t want to miss, so I phoned the publisher’s press office – I don’t normally do things like that, but the girl was brilliant, told me to e-mail her my blog address and postal address and she sent it straight out. Now, of course, after reading your review I want to read it…but I left it at home, to avoid temptation!

      • Christine says:

        That makes me love publishers even more. How wonderful!!!

  3. crimeworm says:

    Yes she was a real sweetie. Her name was Phoebe, which is the sort of name I imagine girls who work in publishing houses have! Would SO love that sort of job – just think, Christine, book heaven!

  4. Christine says:

    OMG that would be heaven. Surrounded by books that are piled high to the ceiling and all you do all day is put your feet up and read. I could do that!

  5. I want this book! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Guest Post and Review: No Other Darkness by Sarah Hilary | northerncrime

  7. Pingback: Tastes Like Fear – Sarah Hilary | #northern #crime #reviews

Leave a Reply

