As Far As You Can Go – Lesley Glaister

Published December 2014

lesleyglaister

In Lesley Glaister’s spellbinding outback thriller, a young couple’s flight from a cold and dreary English winter traps them in a sunbaked nightmare

For Cassie, the ad in the newspaper is a dream come true. Spending a year managing a farm in western Australia away from everything and everyone she and her commitment-phobic boyfriend, Graham, know could be exactly what he needs to realize it’s time to think about getting married and starting a family.

But their fantasy adventure isn’t quite what Cassie imagined. Woolagong, an old sheep station, is on the remote fringes of the desert, where the weather is stifling hot all the time. And the outback is crawling with all manner of lethal creatures. There’s no telephone, no radio, and no electricity—no contact with the outside world. Cassie and Graham send letters home but never receive any in return.

And then there are the employers. Larry and his wife, Mara, live a very private life, which includes some peculiar habits. But what most unsettles Cassie and Graham is the distinct feeling that they’re being watched.

Filled with menace and a creeping sense of dread, As Far as You Can Go is Lesley Glaister at her spine-chilling best.

My thoughts

Thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for the review copy of this book.

The book follows an English couple, Cassie and Graham on an adventure of a lifetime. Cassie and Graham move to Australia to work in the outback for a year. Cassie is hired as a cook and Graham to support a woman with mental health needs, with art. Very slowly, Cassie realizes that things are not what they seem.

I found this an incredibly weak psychological thriller, with little in the way of fear or menace. When I say little, I mean none at all. I spent most of the book day dreaming of alternative chilling Hannibal style twists.

The first half of the book moved at a snail’s pace. The perspective of the drama came from the couple, as they adapted to the strange isolated environment and too much time was spent on this. I became impatient for anything to happen. In the second half, I could see how the couple were being manipulated. This was ultimately ruined by a poor ending. I would have preferred something horrible to have happened to Cassie and Graham.

I was totally disappointed overall. This book had a great deal of potential, but lacked pace and had no real sense of fear. Such a shame!

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to As Far As You Can Go – Lesley Glaister

  1. crimeworm says:

    I read this book earlier in the year – I’d read another Lesley Glaister (Nina Todd Has Gone) and got this one – it seems it’s being re-issued in the wake of Little Egypt…anyway, I really enjoyed it! I thought she used the never-ending heat as a good way to build up the sense of menace – but yeah the ending was a bit crap. Although the Aussie husband was quite funny…Laughed so much at the way you baldly say, “I would have preferred something horrible to have happened to Caddie and Graham”!!!

    • Christine says:

      I really wasn’t feeling that tension AT ALL and I could see the author was trying. I actually liked her writing style, strangely.

      Maybe it was just too low key for me and not explicit scary or murdery. It’s not often I complain about a zero body count, but it would have worked so well if one of them had been bumped off.

      • crimeworm says:

        Well Christine I’ll have to reconsider that backpacking holiday to the outback we were discussing lol!! I just thought they were incredibly naive and silly, going off to stay with that chap…but I thought the heat worked as a way of building up tension, like The Grass Is Singing, although it’s not anywhere close to THAT book! I must read Little Egypt, because that did rather well. I think you like a good body count in your books!

      • Christine says:

        And I was so looking forward to that 100 degree heat 😉

        Maybe I do. Or I seem to want a touch of horror. I think my tastes are evolving.

      • crimeworm says:

        I don’t like out-and-out horror, but I do like creepy books – esp in the winter! So tired – was up to a ridiculous hour finishing Shallow Waters last night – once I was in the last 60 pages or so, I could not put it down!

      • Christine says:

        Poor you! Book exhaustion is hard going. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts. I’m in the middle of ‘Tell No Tales’ Eva Dolan’s latest.

      • crimeworm says:

        I’ve got one of hers (no surprise! I seem to have EVERYTHING! It’s time to read them I don’t have enough of!) I’m going to have to get this bloody spreadsheet done, even for the first three months. As may be apparent, I’m a bit technologically challenged! I’m also going to rake through my mum’s nice tidy cupboards for any of my old crime fiction – I know there’s tons of Ruth Rendell and Agatha Christie books somewhere…

      • Christine says:

        A spreadsheet. Scary. Wouldn’t that make you feel more guilty about what you have to read?

        Are you going to read some old crime fiction? I might join you.

      • crimeworm says:

        May do (if I can fit any in my suitcase!) but it won’t be Golden Age old, it’ll be more books I read as a teenager (that’s long enough ago and means I won’t remember the plots lol!) Just really wanted to have a nosy at what’s here. You seem great at staying on top of things Christine – you’re one blogger I never hear (well, read!) talking about their TBR pile! Oh, and Happy New Year, now it’s here!

      • Christine says:

        Happy New Year, Linda and here’s to lots of fab new crime reads in 2015 🙂

        I don’t worry about TBR books. I will get to them in time. I may be a bit more chilled out about them than everyone else.

    • crimeworm says:

      That’s clearly as your pile isn’t as big as mine (that’s just in the house – the Kindle doesn’t count as they’re invisible, well that’s my rule and I’m sticking to it!) I THINK I found you on GoodReads last night, in the Good Thriller group – your harshness about this book gave you away lol! Going to have to set a new target for this year (although last year I only kept note from when I started blogging!) – I’m not going to be too ambitious, probably go for 52. Or should I be more ambitious? Can’t believe people who get through 150 books – I don’t read v fast, I like to take every clue/ red herring in! I’m enjoying The Girl On The Train, felt like I’d just picked it up but when I looked I was 34% of the way through! Had to keep a close eye on the date thing though, to know what order things happened in.

      • Christine says:

        I really have no idea. I suspect its huge-ish. I still haven’t got to a few of my favourite authors’ recent books. But I refuse to look too closely. I think it’s great. I will never be bored again.

        Did you see my list of books I didn’t get on with? I was surprised there was only 5 for 2014. Just shows how high the standard is.

        I really seem to be in the minority with ‘The Girl on The Train’. It sounds like you liked it more than me, as well. Everyone seems to really rate it. It is puzzling.

  2. I think I’ll leave this off my tbr then 🙂

  3. Oh I hadn’t realised Lesley Glaister had written another book, I was a big fan of Nina Todd has Gone. It’s a great shame this one didn’t live up to your expectation.

    • crimeworm says:

      I think this has been reissued as one called Little Egypt did rather well last year (got it, haven’t read it…as per usual!) But she’s actually got quite a few available – I’ve got another one called Chosen (ditto!) And there are some available in kind of plain covers on Kindle, probably older books. I did quite like this book, although I couldn’t help thinking that the way they just went away to stay with this random she’d just met, and he’d never met, was incredibly naive! But I thought it was v atmospheric!

Leave a Reply

