Tell No Tales – Eva Dolan (Zigic and Ferreira #2)

evadolan2

To be published 8th January 2015

The car that ploughs into the bus stop early one morning leaves a trail of death and destruction behind it.

DS Ferreira and DI Zigic are called in from the Peterborough Hate Crimes Unit to handle the hit-and-run, but with another major case on their hands, one with disturbing Neo-Nazi overtones, they are relieved when there seems to be an obvious suspect. But the case isn’t that simple and with tensions erupting in the town leading to more violence, the media are soon hounding them for answers.

Ferreira believes that local politician Richard Shotton, head of a recently established right-wing party, must be involved somehow. Journalists have been quick to acclaim Shotton, with his Brazilian wife and RAF career, as a serious contender for a major political career, despite his extremist views, but is his party a cover for something far more dangerous?

My thoughts

This is the follow up to the brilliant debut from Eva Dolan ‘Long Way Home’ featuring Zigic and Ferreira. ‘Long Way Home’ was one of my favourite crime reads of 2014. And I could not wait to read the next instalment.

The story takes us back to the Peterborough Police’s ‘Hate Crimes’ Department and race related crime in contemporary Britain. A group of Polish immigrants are involved in a hit and run at a bus stop, when a car smashes into them. There have also been violent murders taking place across town, involving Black and Asian young men. Zigic is investigating and under pressure to get a quick result from his boss, as ethnic tensions in the city grow.

Once again, Eva Dolan brings racial disharmony and bigotry in a divided city into the open. This time, there is an organized political element to the race crime. The local MP has gained power on a race ticket and has connections to the extremists living in Peterborough. The different cultural groups in the city are struggling to live together. It all sounds rather familiar. Eva Dolan is a genius at tapping into contemporary discourses on race and immigration. She reflects what is happening in the here and now, beautifully and uniquely.

I was mesmerized by the plot and the sad politics of division. I was very drawn to Sofia, a young Polish immigrant, who seemed to have a tough life. I felt sorry for the recent immigrants and their dreadful living and working conditions. I was completely distracted initially and failed to guess correctly who was responsible for the murders. When the identity of the killer was revealed, it made a sad sense.

‘Tell No Tales’ is an excellent follow up to ‘Long Way Home’ and proves just how talented Eva Dolan is. One to read if you like dark crime, with a clever dash of reality.

 

Many thanks to the publishers and Eva Dolan for my review copy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tell No Tales – Eva Dolan (Zigic and Ferreira #2)

  1. I have Long Way Home on my kindle and really need to read it.

  2. crimeworm says:

    Me too – but I also have Tell No Tales, which should really be read asap. What do you think, Christine? Should I read the first one first? I know I should really…Btw, loving Girl On The Train! Halfway through…got a ton of reviews to do too. And in paperback (for when the Kindle dies) I’m reading An Officer And A Spy. Took a while to get going, but now – wow!

    • Christine says:

      ‘Tell No Tales’ is ok to read first. I wouldn’t worry about reading them in the wrong order. You can easily get away with it and catch up later.

      I didn’t get on with Girl on a Train. I’m in the minority 😦

      You are racing through your books!!!!!

      • crimeworm says:

        Well I’ve said that before about books (loving them before I’ve finished them!) but I’m quietly confident in this writer’s abilities – which makes me think, haven’t there been an awful lot of excellent debut novels this past year or so…I’m sick of writing, “It’s hard to believe this is a debut…”, then having to change it because I’m repeating myself. But this is another (although not for you!)
        I guess I’ve read a fair bit as I was at my parents’ house, which is pretty remote (Isle of Mull?) and my Dad watches really crap TV, so I go to bed about half 10 and read til about 4, plus sometimes an hour in the afternoon too. The books I’ve read recently have been great, too, so that’s put me on a sort of reading buzz! Just need to finish a couple of reviews before I forget everything I wanted to say! Back home today, to a v cold house with the water heater looking to have buggered up in our absence…I remember there was a guy on Twitter who said he’d done all his reviews for the next 3 months – scarily organised! But I do have a spreadsheet, with all this year’s ARCs – 25 to read and review, but one’s not out til June. Just the backlog to get through in between!!

      • Christine says:

        The standard is just so high in crime writing. I think we get almost too used to it. And the new authors coming through just amaze me with the freshness they bring and their ideas. I don’t know how they get it so right. I liked the beginning of the Train book…. just not the rest of it.

        The whole spreadsheet thing wouldn’t work for me. But you and that guy on twitter (my mind has gone blank but I know his name) are totally impressing me.

      • crimeworm says:

        Yes, Shaun, the very good looking chap who reads all the time as he has no other life and has three months of reviews done and dusted? (God I hope he doesn’t read this! But you’d think he’d be, well, greatly in demand!) I just could NEVER be so organised! No I’m totally not ahead of myself, I just read a book, think, “Must review that in the next day or four” (preferably before I forget everything about it!) And then I open another. I think you seem v organised, as though you read a book, review it, then start a new book. And you’re right – the standard of crime fiction right now is brilliant. When I started reading the Rebus books, maybe 4 or 5 in, there was v little good new crime fiction about – certainly NONE from Scotland. And now look at it! I think you have to be incredibly original, or have a great voice, I mean brilliant, to get a book deal.

  3. Pingback: Watch Her Disappear – Eva Dolan | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

