The Ice Twins – S. K. Tremayne

Published 29/1/15 by Harper Collins UK

icetwins

One of Sarah’s daughters died. But can she be sure which one? A terrifying psychological thriller that will chill you to the bone.

A year after one of their identical twin daughters, Lydia, dies in an accident, Angus and Sarah Moorcraft move to the tiny Scottish island Angus inherited from his grandmother, hoping to put together the pieces of their shattered lives.

But when their surviving daughter, Kirstie, claims they have mistaken her identity – that she, in fact, is Lydia – their world comes crashing down once again.

As winter encroaches, Angus is forced to travel away from the island for work, Sarah is feeling isolated, and Kirstie (or is it Lydia?) is growing more disturbed. When a violent storm leaves Sarah and her daughter stranded, Sarah finds herself tortured by the past – what really happened on that fateful day one of her daughters died?

About the Author

S. K. Tremayne is a bestselling novelist and award-winning travel writer, and a regular contributor to newspapers and magazines around the world. Born in Devon, the author now lives in London. S. K. Tremayne has two daughters.

My thoughts

Sometimes you hear about a book and think that as a concept it sounds incredibly fascinating and disturbing. There is something about creepy twins and an isolated place, that draws me. I always love a good drama set in a closed community or with just a few characters. As a book, this is pretty much what I want to read in a psychological thriller. I am impressed.

The story is of a family, who move to an isolated island in Scotland. We mostly get the mother’s perspective in the novel, Sarah. Sarah is married to Angus, and was mother to twin girls. One of the twins died in an accident leaving Kirstie the surviving twin emotionally devastated. As we get to know the family, they are settling into their new, rather basic home on a Scottish island. Kirstie’s behaviour becomes increasingly odd, declaring that she is not Kirstie but her dead twin, Lydia. The tension escalates as Kirstie, Sarah and Angus tiptoe around each other, as we wait for the truth to emerge.

There is a lovely cold chilly unsettling feeling to this book. It is absolutely perfect for winter. And the house that Sarah and Angus move to, sounds so basic, harsh and unappealing. I cannot imagine living so far away from civilisation and a decent supermarket. The writer ‘S. K. Tremayne’, a pseudonym for a London based writer, has created a very believable environment and placed a rather strange family there. Sarah and Angus appear on the surface to have it all, their sanctuary on the island and their child. Yet their relationship is strained and missing vital closeness and communication. It is no wonder that Kirstie is a mixed up little girl.

This is one book with a massive mystery, and a supernatural element that plays around mischievously in your head. Who is lying? Who is telling the truth? What is hidden? Who is Kirstie? I almost didn’t want to know the truth.

A terrific read, that will put you off moving to a remote Scottish island for life!

The ‘Ice Twins’ has also been reviewed by Linda at Crimeworm.

 http://crimeworm.wordpress.com/2015/01/29/the-ice-twins-s-k-tremayne 

Thanks to Harper Collins and Netgalley for my review copy!

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Ice Twins – S. K. Tremayne

  1. crimeworm says:

    Thanks for the mention, Christine! And glad you enjoyed it as much as I did. I’d love to know who SK Tremayne is; my guess is s/he is an experienced writer as the tension in this was expertly wound tighter and tighter…whoever they are, I hope they’ll be writing more books. Between The Girl On The Train, and this, January’s been a great month for readers.

    • Christine says:

      I actually remembered to link it to your blog. I’m proud of myself!!! 🙂

      I wonder if we will find out who SK Tremayne is. I can’t even guess whether Tremayne is male or female. Definitely someone who we will recognise, I would say.

  2. I desperately want to get my hands on this book!

  3. Kay says:

    Such a fascinating sounding book. It will definitely be on my list when it’s published here in the US later this year. Or maybe I’ll order it early from your side of the pond. 🙂

  4. This sounds so good, a great premise. I have twins, but thankfully they are a boy and a girl so I can always tell them apart 😉

  5. I’ve now seen so many great reviews of this book by reviewers whose opinions I trust that I am going to have to get a copy.

  6. FictionFan says:

    crimeworm’s already talked me into requesting this one from NetGalley, so it’s great to see another really positive review!

  7. marie545 says:

    I agree with you, The Ice Twins is perfect for the winter, I’m glad I read it with the snow falling outside my window, it added to the creepy atmosphere !

Leave a Reply

