The Doll’s House – M.J. Arlidge

Published on 12th February 2015

doll

From the author of the UK’s bestselling crime debut of 2014,Eeny Meeny, comes this new chilling thriller

A young woman wakes in a cold, dark cellar, with no idea how she got there or who kidnapped her. So begins her terrible nightmare.

The body of another young woman is discovered buried on a remote beach. But the dead girl was never reported missing – her estranged family having received regular texts from her over the years.

For DI Helen Grace it’s chilling evidence that she’s chasing a twisted monster who is clever and resourceful – a predator who’s killed before.

As Helen struggles to understand the killer’s motivation, she realises she’s in a desperate race against time…

My thoughts

I became a fan of the Helen Grace series and its lovely dark detective, from ‘Eeny Meeny’. It is great to be able to get my hands on the latest one and see the return of Helen.

The story takes us into the world of a captive and simultaneously we see the investigation into the death of a woman found buried on a beach. We follow a young woman waking up in a cellar. She is cold and alone. Slowly she realises that she has been taken from her life by a madman and she fears for her life. A body is found on a beach and Helen Grace, rising star of the Southampton police force is on the case. Someone has been sending texts and tweeting on the behalf of the dead woman.

The strength of this book lies in Helen Grace and her side kick, Charlie. Slowly we are getting to know them very well and to feel a lovely empathy with their situations. Charlie is now on maternity leave from the force, but that does not stop her getting involved. As usual, Helen is a mixed up and increasingly a rather disliked woman. I quite like that about her. It is rather refreshing that she is hated and despised for her success. It has a realistic edge to it.

I would have liked the killer to be more evil. He was just that little bit too tame for me. But he was entertaining in his delusional beliefs.

I am now slightly worried that Southampton has become the crime capital for serial killers. You won’t catch me visiting there.

Another great instalment from M.J.Arlidge. Here is to more Helen Grace.

Thanks to Netgalley and Penguin for my review copy 🙂

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Doll’s House – M.J. Arlidge

  1. crimeworm says:

    I love that you liked the killer to be more evil (and the Southampton comment!) I’m going to take a couple of weeks to get to this as I’m on Eeny Meeny at the mo, then I’ll read Pop Goes The Weasel – but I love Eeny Meeny, and can’t believe I’ve waited so long to read it!

  2. FictionFan says:

    Haha! I loved the ‘more evil’ comment too! I haven’t tried this author yet, but sounds good…

  3. Kay says:

    This is a new series for me and I see that it’s not yet available here in the US. Later this year, apparently. Will keep it in mind. Sounds like one I’d enjoy.

Leave a Reply

