Normal – Graeme Cameron

To be published April 9th 2015 by Mira

 

Normal_FrontCover

I hurt people.

It’s what I do. It’s all I do. It’s all I’ve ever done.

I’m not NORMAL.’

He is the man who lives on your street. The one you see in the supermarket and nod hello to.

He’s also a serial killer. Killing is what he’s good at.

He’s the most compelling antihero since Patricia Highsmith’s Ripley.

And you’ll want him to get away with MURDER.

My thoughts

This book should come with a warning. You will fall in love with a serial killer and find yourself laughing inappropriately as you read.

‘Normal’ is a story of an apparently normal everyday bloke. He has a secret. He is a serial killer. We get to know him as he is methodically cleaning up, following one of his kills. We follow him stalk, kidnap and kill. He enjoys murder and the body count rises. We don’t even know his name, but that does not matter. Hearing his thoughts and seeing his actions, we fall into his crazy mixed up world and start to understand it. He begins to make mistakes and things get increasingly complicated for our killer.

The whole story is narrated by our killer. Morality is turned on its head, as Cameron cleverly makes him so likeable. Graeme Cameron injects humour and wonderful comic moments. Some of the dialogue between the police and our killer is just hilarious. They are suspicious and he just lays on the charm. And Erica, who our killer encounters, is wonderful and off beat.

This was an outstanding read. I laughed. I empathised with our dark anti-hero. I wanted him to get away with murder. I didn’t want it to end. I wanted the police to continue to be fooled.

Just marvellous! Recommended!

This has also been reviewed and loved by:

Liz at Lizlovesbooks

http://lizlovesbooks.com/lizlovesbooks/normal-by-graeme-cameron-so-addictive-youll-kill-to-keep-reading-it/

Thanks to Mira and Netgalley for my review copy!

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Normal – Graeme Cameron

  1. Kay says:

    I saw something about this one recently and tried to decide if it appealed to me or not. I’m not usually so much for the anti-hero but your review makes it seems worthwhile to take a look. Thanks for that!

  2. I so adored this book!

  3. After reading Rebecca’s review and now yours I’m really pleased that I have a copy of this one – I’m so looking forward to reading it!

  4. crimeworm says:

    I guess it’s like Dexter, isn’t it, the anti-hero (although he did kill baddies, to be fair!) The black comedy in it definitely reminds me of A Pleasure And A Calling, about the estate agent who has copies of keys for all the houses he’s ever sold, so he can come and go and nose into.people’s lives! Reminds me, I must e-mail first thing and see if I can get a copy of this, as everyone seems to love it! Cleo, I’m dying to hear your opinion!

    • Christine says:

      Dexter had a moral code of a sort. This killer doesn’t have one. He pretty much does what he wants. But he really did remind me a lot of Dexter, especially in the first chapters. I liked him. I hope you and Cleo get on with it.

  5. Pingback: Normal BLOG Tour. Guest post by Graeme Cameron – Will there be a sequel? | northerncrime

  6. Pingback: Top 12 Crime Books of 2015 | northerncrime

Leave a Reply

