The Kind Worth Killing- Peter Swanson

Published February 2015 by Faber and Faber Crime

thekindworthkilling

Peter Swanson returns with 2015’s most compulsive thriller.


‘Hello there.’
I looked at the pale, freckled hand on the back of the empty bar seat next to me in the business class lounge of Heathrow airport, then up into the stranger’s face.
‘Do I know you?’

Delayed in London, Ted Severson meets a woman at the airport bar. Over cocktails they tell each other rather more than they should, and a dark plan is hatched – but are either of them being serious, could they actually go through with it and, if they did, what would be their chances of getting away with it?

Back in Boston, Ted’s wife Miranda is busy site managing the construction of their dream home, a beautiful house out on the Maine coastline. But what secrets is she carrying and to what lengths might she go to protect the vision she has of her deserved future?

A sublimely plotted novel of trust and betrayal, The Kind Worth Killing will keep you gripped and guessing late into the night.

My thoughts

Many thanks to everyone who recommended this book to me. I agree. It is clever, intelligent, slightly disturbing and totally enthralling.

The story introduces two people who meet by chance, at an airport lounge. Lily meets Ted and they share life stories. Ted believes his wife is having an affair. Lily encourages Ted to seek revenge. Murder becomes the focus of both of them. It is impossible to say much more, without giving the game away. There are some delightful twists and surprise events.

The whole story has a very old fashioned feel to it, like an old black and white movie. We hear from Lily, Ted and a few other characters and slowly get an idea about the kind of people we are dealing with. It is a study of evil and the normalisation of evil acts. There is revenge, murder, more murder and moments where you find yourself gasping. And we have one very fascinating lead character.

Everyone should read this one. Totally recommended.

Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for my review copy

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Kind Worth Killing- Peter Swanson

  1. FictionFan says:

    Funny you should say that about it feeling like a movie, ‘cos every time I see anything about it it reminds me of Hitchcock’s ‘Stranger on a Train’.

    • Christine says:

      It’s the language and the mood, FictionFan. I don’t know how he does it. I’ve never seen that film. I just looked it up and it is very much like the first part of the book. Except it takes that as a starting point.

  2. crimeworm says:

    Must get to this one, deffo!

    • Christine says:

      You have to, Linda! It’s clever 🙂

      • crimeworm says:

        Cool, I will, deffo. What’s next on your agenda? On the Kindle, I’m totally engrossed in Silent Scream (as Cleo said somewhere, so hard to believe it’s her debut!) But probably get to this one next! I’ve got to pick out a “real book” too, for when the Kindle’s charging, so The Crooked House can get finished, I think. And I think Kay said something about Strangers On A Train; she should check out the Patricia Highsmith book. She is brilliant!

      • Christine says:

        I started Humber Boy B at the hairdressers and I’ve given Her a chance on my kindle. Think I need to check out Patricia Highsmith too.

  3. I have just finished this one – your review is spot on!

  4. Christine says:

    Cleo, thanks xxxx

  5. Kay says:

    I’ve got this one on my list to read soon. Am hearing such good things about it. Makes me want to go hunt up the movie of Strangers on a Train. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Pingback: The Kind Worth Killing – Peter Swanson | crimeworm

  7. Pingback: Her Every Fear – Peter Swanson | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

