Her – Harriet Lane

Published January 2015

her

You don’t remember her . . . but she remembers you. ‘The ultimate frenemy thriller’ NOW and smash critical hit from the publishers that bought you GONE GIRL.

Two women; two different worlds.
Emma is a struggling mother who has put everything on hold.
Nina is sophisticated and independent – entirely in control.

When the pair meet, Nina generously draws Emma into her life. But this isn’t the first time the women’s paths have crossed. Nina remembers Emma and she remembers what Emma did.

But what exactly does Nina want from her?
And how far will she go in pursuit of it?

My thoughts

‘Her’ is depicted as a psychological thriller about two very different women and revenge. We get perspectives from both Emma and Nina, throughout the novel. Very early on, we start to understand that something links these two women, artist and mother, from the past. Nina wants revenge and slowly she starts to disrupt Emma’s world.

I found this book incredibly hard to get through and extremely dull. I actually gave up reading at 60%. Getting the same scene narrated by both characters just reinforced my sense of boredom. I disliked both characters and found myself not caring what might happen next. The pace was just too slow. Half way through the book, I would have expected to have had more of an idea of the direction of the plot. But very little had happened at that point. Nina was supposed to be unhinged and obsessed. I felt this could have been done so much better. Nina could have been deliciously evil.

One to avoid, I think!

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Her – Harriet Lane

  1. crimeworm says:

    I think I stopped it at about 44% then made myself read the rest after a couple of weeks. It’s not like you to not finish a book! To be fair, when they get to France it speeds up (did you read the end?!)

    • Christine says:

      I got as far as the babysitting and the snooping around, and Nina taking the little boy. I lost patience. The pace was slower that the slowest snail in the world. I was mentally shouting at Nina to just get on with it. I was hating it so much that I decided it wasn’t worth finishing. I hardly ever just stop books mid way, maybe once a year. They have to be pretty bad to make me just switch off.

Leave a Reply

