Don’t Turn Around – Caroline Mitchell

To be published 24th April 2015 by Bookouture

cover63233-medium

 

You don’t know him. But he knows you.

Soon he would be able to touch her, to feel the warmth of her blood. And when the time came, nothing would stop him.

As D.C. Jennifer Knight investigates a routine stabbing in the quiet town of Haven, she is shocked at what seems like a personal message from beyond the grave.

When more bodies are found, Jennifer is convinced the killings are somehow linked.

What she discovers is more chilling than she could possibly imagine. The murders mirror those of the notorious Grim Reaper – from over twenty years ago. A killer her mother helped convict.

Jennifer can no longer ignore the personal connection. Is there a copycat killer at work? Was the wrong man convicted? Or is there something more sinister at play …

With her mother’s terrifying legacy spiralling out of control, Jennifer must look into her own dark past in a fight not only to stop a killer – but to save herself and those she loves.

A heart-stopping supernatural thriller to engross fans of Rachel Abbott, Paul Finch and James Oswald.

About Caroline Mitchell

Caroline, a detective, lives with her husband, four children and two dogs in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. Three years ago, Caroline encountered true paranormal activity from an unknown entity in their home. A writer at heart, Caroline documented her experiences and wrote a book in the hope of helping others. She discovered a passion for writing and based her fiction thrillers on the two subjects she is most passionate about: crime and the paranormal.

My thoughts

This is a refreshing and rather different supernatural police procedural story. It reminded me of the X Files, in the way it normalises the paranormal and the just plain strange. As it is so well written, I found it very believable, absorbing and highly entertaining.

There is an unconventional lead character in DC Jennifer Knight. I can guarantee that anyone who reads this will be fascinated by Jennifer, her OCD behaviours and her supernatural abilities. Jennifer is odd and endearing, at the same time. A product of a sad childhood, with strange gifts that set her apart, she has a great deal of potential as a character. I loved the way she received messages from beyond the grave. This introduction to her left me wanting more.

The story takes a paranormal turn, when the mysteriously evil so called ‘Grim Reaper’ seems to be up to his old tricks again. The ‘Grim Reaper’ was a murderer, who was caught in the past by Jennifer’s mum. This criminal is long since dead. We learn all about him and he is quite a character. Jennifer soon sees the parallels with the past and has to work out what is going on.

This is a promising and well written supernatural detective story, with a surprising twist. One to look out for!

Thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for my review copy!

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in supernatural and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Don’t Turn Around – Caroline Mitchell

  1. crimeworm says:

    I do laugh at the way you (without meaning to be) are so v funny – when talking about this evil murderer: “he is quite a character”. Like you’re referring to a guy who might be in the pub tonight. Another goodie was the time you wished someone was a bit more evil! Great review, Christine – I’m with Edith Wharton – “I don’t believe in ghosts but I’m afraid of them…” I usually like my crime, and my ghost stories, and never the twain shall meet. This sounds okay, though. No, it actually sounds pretty good.

    • Christine says:

      I think its my love of anti-heroes with dubious morality coming through. I kind of have a thing for evil bad guys in fiction. I warm to them. They can’t help it… Thanks Linda 😉
      I know what you mean about crime and ghost stories. I don’t believe in the paranormal or any of that stuff at all. So a book has to be well written for me to take a leap of faith. But this reminded me of the X Files. Strange events being solved by unusual means. And I like that.

  2. Thank you for taking the time to review Don’t Turn Around, I’m delighted you enjoyed reading about DC Jennifer Knight, there’s lots more in store for her in 2015 🙂

  3. Kay says:

    Oh, I’m definitely intrigued. I don’t mind crime and supernatural melding, but I want it to be “believable”, if you will. And I’m not sure how I would define that. I just know it when I read it. Will definitely take a look. Well, and you had me at OCD – that’s an interesting quirk that I can rarely resist. Thanks for putting this one on my neverending list. 🙂

    • Thanks Kay, Jennifer Knight certainly has her quirks, coupled with a big heart to see her through. I’ve infused my own experience as a police officer who has experienced real life paranormal activity to create this book, so I think you’ll find it interesting. 🙂

      • Christine says:

        Have you got many more adventures planned for Jennifer Knight, Caroline?

      • Hi Christine,
        Yes as it happens, I’ve been signed for three books with Bookouture but if readers take Jennifer Knight to their hearts there may be more. I’m currently working on book two, which is even creepier than the first. All I’ll say is … the ravens are coming! 😉

  4. Christine says:

    WONDERFUL news! I am sure readers will fall in love with Jennifer. And there is just so much potential, the way you set it up at the end of the book! … Ravens oooh!! I tend to think of them screeching in those old grainy films, as if they can sense evil.

  5. Pingback: Time to Die – Caroline Mitchell | northerncrime

Leave a Reply

