After We Fall – Emma Kavanagh (known as Falling in the UK)

Published in the UK in 2014 and in the US on 2 June 2015 by Sourcebooks

afterwefall

A moody, intense debut psychological thriller by a former police psychologist, this debut novel explores four lives that fall apart in the tense aftermath of a plane crash, perfect for fans of Tana French, S. J. Watson, and Alice LaPlante. Unraveling what holds these four together is a tense, taut tale about good people who make bad decisions that ultimately threaten to destroy them. Debut author Emma Kavanagh deftly weaves together the stories of those who lost someone or something of themselves in one tragic incident, exploring how swiftly everything we know can come crashing down.

My thoughts

The book starts with a plane falling from the sky, and Cecilia’s witness account as a flight attendant. Over the course of the next few chapters, we are introduced to Tom, a police officer, Freya the student and retired Jim. Throughout the novel, as the plot unwinds we get differing perspectives and accounts. The death of a young PCSO, left lying in the snow is investigated. We are drawn into the mystery of Freya’s father who was the pilot on the doomed flight. The pieces of the puzzle slowly come together.

I absolutely loved every moment of this book. It was a pleasure to read and totally absorbing.

While I was reading the first few chapters, I was slightly puzzled by the different perspectives. Slowly I began to see how interconnected the different narrators were and how clearly the author draws together the strands. There is a lovely sense of cold and suspense, created by the bitter winter snow and death. I loved the drama of the plane crash, the way it unfolded and the effect on the characters. It had a feel of realism about it. My favourite character was Cecilia, as we got real insight into her motivations and fears.

I completely recommend this book. As a first novel, it is pretty impressive and an amazing read.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to After We Fall – Emma Kavanagh (known as Falling in the UK)

  1. Kay says:

    I’m looking forward to reading this book. It sounds really good, although I am already a sort of nervous flier. LOL

  2. crimeworm says:

    Mmm…who is Alice LaPlante? Don’t know her – any connection to the legendary Linda?I’ve got this to review. Weird this change of name – happened with another book recently (but I can’t remember which, obviously! Brain like sieve!)

    • Christine says:

      I think they change the names to confuse us. I thought it was a new book initially!

      • crimeworm says:

        You could end up buying the same book twice – normal people read the back and go, “Oh, I’ve read this”, but looking at all the old Ruth Rendells I’ve bought, I KNOW I’ve read them but the blurb means nothing to me. I’m talking about 20+ years ago though (but I’m not that old, honestly! I read them when I was 8 – like you, probably! #childprodigies) I’m so jealous at how up to speed you are – always! I’m desperately trying to get through the eighteen Theakstons Longlist, plus I’ve blog tours I’ve signed up for! You’re always on top of things!

Leave a Reply

