The Affair (A Short Story) – Emma Kavanagh

Published 26th March 2015 by Cornerstone

 the affair emma k

A free digital short story from the author of Falling.

Featuring Charlotte Solomon, a brilliant a relentless reporter, from Emma Kavanagh’s new novel Hidden, out in April 2015.

A couple have been found dead in their living room.

Was it a simple domestic misunderstanding or is there more to it than meets the eye…?

My thoughts

We are introduced to Charlotte Solomon, who is one of the main characters in ‘Hidden’. ‘Hidden’ is due to be published on the 23rd April 2015 and is Emma Kavanagh’s follow up to her hugely successful ‘Falling’. This is a preview into a character we will soon be hearing more from.

We meet Charlotte as she is waiting outside a house, with the rest of the press. Charlotte Solomon is a journalist working for the ‘Swansea Times’. The house is a crime scene and is being guarded by police officers. There are bodies inside and Charlotte is looking for a scoop. We hear Charlotte’s thoughts and reasonings. She is obviously bright and good at joining up dots. Great at her job.

Short and sweet. The perfect introduction to Charlotte and her world. Emma Kavanagh gives you just enough to make you long for more.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Affair (A Short Story) – Emma Kavanagh

  1. Ooh I’ve read Hidden and enjoyed it, I’ll have to read this one now 🙂

    • Christine says:

      Hidden is great isn’t it? I’m saving my review for the publication date.

      • crimeworm says:

        I’ve got Hidden, and After We Fall/Falling, and must read them. I am engrossed in Cambodia at the moment…Brilliant!

      • Christine says:

        What are you reading?

      • I loved it, had to do my review early as I got the book through Amazon Vine.

      • crimeworm says:

        I’m reading Death In The Rainy Season, which is the one I’m doing a blog tour for – it’s about a French policeman who ends up involved in the murder of a French citizen who works there, while he’s on holiday there. It’s pretty good, not action packed, more of a slow burner. Still reading The Abrupt Physics Of Dying (in the loo), it’s very dramatic and he drinks lots of vodka straight (which is something I’ve only ever seen people in soaps do, and I worked in a lot of pubs when I was a student!) Also got Hush Hush by Laura Lippman not long started! I’d lost my reading mojo for a bit, got it back – partially – just as my blog’s went tits up! What’s next for you?

      • Christine says:

        I’ve just started Sharon Bolton’s ‘Little Black Lies’. Pretty much can tell its brilliant from the first few chapters. I’ve also got ‘Death In The Rainy Season’ to get stuck into and calling out to me. And I was looking at ‘Hausfrau’ because its getting such great reviews.

  2. crimeworm says:

    Well-spotted, I’ll need to look for this one! I put up a post last night and when I looked at it, it had lines of codes in it, I’ve no idea why, so I had to take it off. My back’s so sore I don’t know if I can face hours in front of it tonight – everything that should take 20 mins takes an hour plus. Last night I went in at 10pm just to paste book covers in – I thought I’d be done before MotD – I was still there at 1am! It’s really dispiriting and starting to depress me, and I don’t understand what on earth I’m doing wrong! Anyway, I’m off to look for this short story!

Leave a Reply

