Hidden – Emma Kavanagh

Published on 23rd April 2015 by Cornerstone

Hidden

 

A gripping psychological thriller by a former police psychologist. Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson.

HE’S WATCHING

A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He’s unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently.

Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman – before it’s too late.

SHE’S WAITING

To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety – both for her, and her young niece who’s been recently admitted. She’s heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he?

As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman’s next target will be. But he’s there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks…

My thoughts

This is Emma Kavanagh’s second novel and it takes us into the world of the spree killer. The dramatic and chilling opening shows a man with a gun, at Mount Pleasant Hospital. That man is killing people randomly causing bloodshed and horror in the hospital. A local reporter, Charlie sees him and recognises him. Slowly throughout the course of the book, we are presented with suspects and it is only at the end that we know and understand who this man is.

The action goes back to six days before the shooting. We get to know Charlie, a local journalist, Imogen, a psychologist at the hospital, her twin sister, Mara, who has a sick child and Aden, a Fire Arms Officer. We find out about past events, of a shooting that caused a child to go into a coma and of the long reaching effects of pain and trauma. There is a great deal to this story, coming to terms with the past, PTSD and of course the mystery of the shooter.

We are all aware of these kinds of killings from the mass media, where one individual has killed many in a short space of time. There is some familiarity there, as we have seen images from television of schools or communities, after this kind of devastation. Emma Kavanagh gives us psychological insight into the mind of the killer. We get to know him, his background and what led to his murderous actions. This is an unstable man, who due to the high quality of the writing you feel empathy with.

The killer is of course ‘hiding’ in plain sight, which is where the title comes from. And I do love a good mystery. There were a few red herrings thrown in, so I didn’t guess the identity of the shooter.

The strength of this book lies in the way the author uses her psychological background to create believable scenarios and a fascinating array of characters. A clever and dramatic insight into the spree killer.

Thanks to the publishers and Netgalley for my review copy!

And it is my stop on the Hidden blog tour tomorrow.

Hidden Blog Tour

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hidden – Emma Kavanagh

  1. Pingback: Hidden Blog Tour. Guest post by Emma Kavanagh – Post Traumatic Reactions | northerncrime

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s