A Killing Moon – Steven Dunne (Damon Brook 5)

Published 7 May 2015 by Headline

a killing moon

For the young woman kidnapped on her way home from the pub, the nightmare is about to begin….

Weeks after Caitlin Kinnear goes missing, the police are unable to break her case. Worse they are not even certain harm has come to her. But determined to pursue all leads, DI Damen Brook and his team begin to trawl through the murky world of cheap migrant labour. Convinced that the answers lie hidden within its depths, Brook soon begins to realise Caitlin is in terrible danger.

When the body of another young girl turns up it becomes clear that Caitlin’s abduction might not be an isolated incident and the race is on to save her. But with time running out, can Brook put the pieces together and find Caitlin before it’s too late?

My thoughts

‘A Killing Moon’ is my first introduction to Steven Dunne’s Damon Brook series and it is really rather excellent. I could not put it down. Steven Dunne takes us into the world of the low paid transients, the easily forgotten and the dark side of Derby. My kind of story!

I got enough of a taste of Damon Brook, the central protagonist, to crave more. Brook has a complicated mental health history, that was alluded to. I found myself very interested in his back story and was wishing I had read the rest of the series first. It is clear that he is at the end of his recovery journey. He also has a funny quirky way of completely disliking American sayings and phrases. And he is clever.

This story sees us following Caitlin, a young Derby University student, who disappears into thin air. We follow what happens to her, as she drunkenly leaves the pub and is kidnapped. We get to know her and genuinely fear for her safety. Caitlin is one of a long line of young women, who have disappeared. Luckily for Caitlin, Brook takes on the case and works this all out.

This was a terrific and exciting read, with plenty of action. A great introduction to Brook for me. It was dark enough to satisfy, with an interesting moral question posed. I could understand the motives of Caitlin’s kidnappers, and how their view of the world had led them down the wrong path.

I will have to hunt down the rest of the series and find out more!

 

Many thanks to the publishers and Bookbridgr for my review copy!

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Killing Moon – Steven Dunne (Damon Brook 5)

  1. A great review, I’ll definitely read this book, but given your recommendations I’ll start at book one.

  2. Kay says:

    Sounds good – another new series. Will find the first and begin there. Yay!

  3. Sarah Hardy says:

    its a great series of books and definitely recommend starting from the beginning. all 5 got 5 stars from me but my personal favourites are The Disciple and A Killing Moon, they just took it to another level.

  4. I’ve read the first in the series and really enjoyed it. I really need to continue with the rest of the series.

  5. crimeworm says:

    This is a new author (and another series!) Sounds fantastic, Christine, I think I’ll be forced to investigate. (Why do you always do this to me?!)

  6. Pingback: The Reaper – Steven Dunne | #crime #thriller #books

  7. Pingback: Death Do Us Part – Steven Dunne | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

