Review: Domino Killer – Neil White *Neil White Blog Tour*

Published 30th July 2015 by Little, Brown Book Group UK

25643638

 neil

 Description

When a man is found beaten to death in a local Manchester park, Detective Constable Sam Parker is one of the investigating officers. Sam swiftly identifies the victim, but what at first looks like an open and shut case quickly starts to unravel when he realises that the victim’s fingerprints were found on a knife at another crime scene, a month earlier.

Meanwhile, Sam’s brother, Joe – a criminal defence lawyer in the city – comes face to face with a man whose very presence sends shockwaves through his life. Joe must confront the demons of his past as he struggles to come to terms with the darkness that this man represents.

Before long, Joe and Sam are in way over their heads, both sucked into a terrifying game of cat-and-mouse that threatens to change their lives for ever…

‘Authenticity reeks from every page…hypnotic, troubling crime writing with a superb villain and a distinctive atmosphere.’ Daily Mail on Next to Die


As part of the Blog Tour to celebrate all that is Neil White, the lovely Liz of Liz loves books (lizlovesbooks.com) asked me to review ‘The Domino Killer’. 

My thoughts

This is the third in the Parker Brothers trilogy, by Neil White. It was also my introduction to Joe and Sam, the lawyer and the detective based in Manchester. It does bring me out in a nervous rash jumping into books at the end of a series. I bravely ignored my strong impulse to read the other books and dived in.

I do not know where the previous two books went in the series, but I can make a shrewd guess. Ellie Parker was murdered nearly twenty years ago. A teenage girl whose death devastated the Parker family. The book is about resolution and catching a cold blooded killer.

A straight forward death becomes more complicated, when evidence is found linking it to another crime scene. This is a kind of ‘domino effect’. This brings Sam into the picture, as the cop. A new and disturbing client for Joe brings the worst time of his life back.

I really enjoyed myself getting into the lives of Sam and Joe. Neil White writes in a very engaging manner and has an extremely readable style. I found myself speeding through it, anxious to see what would happen next and loving the outcome. I see Neil White as a writer, who is coming into his own and I can see why he is gaining a following. I must get my hands on the other two books in the series.

With a twisted evil character at its centre, and an intriguing pair of brothers, this is a great book to lose yourself in.

 

My thanks to Netgalley for the e-book and the publishers. And to Liz of Lizlovesbooks for being a superstar and arranging this Blog Tour.

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Domino Killer – Neil White *Neil White Blog Tour*

  1. crimeworm says:

    Ha ha! Great review! Loved hearing about your rash Christine. I thought it was fine as a standalone, it didn’t occur until halfway through that it could be a series.He is very, “one more chapter…”, absolutely.

  2. Kay says:

    This sounds very good and I have the same compulsion to ‘read in order’. I think I didn’t have it years ago when I just picked up whatever was available on the library shelf. However, these days I seem to have all the info about an author and their backlist at my fingertips. So…like to get the whole picture on the characters. I’ll check around for the start to this series.

Leave a Reply

