What Remains by Tim Weaver – A Discussion Part Two

whatremains

Published on 16 July 2015 by Penguin UK/Michael Joseph

Colm Healy used to be one of the Met’s best detectives. Until, haunted by the unsolved murders of a mother and her twin daughters, his life was left in ruins. His failure to find an elusive killer – or even a motive for such a merciless crime – consumed him, his career and his family.
Missing persons investigator David Raker is the only friend Healy has left. The only one who understands that redemption rests on solving these murders. As they reopen the investigation together, Raker learns the hard way how this case breeds obsession – and how an unsolvable puzzle can break even the best detective.

Liz of Lizlovesbooks and I buddy read ‘What Remains’ and shared our thoughts on Twitter. We are HUGE fans of the series and we absolutely adored David Raker’s latest adventure. We enjoyed chatting so much, that we decided to write our review as a discussion.

Part One is on Lizlovesbooks.com and this is the rest. Tim Weaver was lovely and contributed, by answering a few questions.

Christine: I think that is why it works so well. We care about Raker and Healy. We know them and they matter. Their turmoil is our turmoil. And Tim Weaver just loves playing with that.

I actually looked up the Pier to see if it really existed. I’m a sucker for a story with strong historical links….

Liz: Ooh yes I DO love something I can Google! The whole setting for What Remains is very cool and VERY creepy – one scene that involves the pier had me right on the edge of my seat (you will know which one I mean) and as a backdrop it really brought the story into sharp focus – another thing prevalent in the series as a whole is the blending of background and “action” if you like.

And you are absolutely right about the turmoil. I just hang on in there every time hoping that nothing TOO drastic will happen to those I love! But David Raker has  such a grit to him when it comes to his cases he’s almost bound to end up in trouble. And the storytelling is simply so creative – this case I thought was particularly well weaved (yes yes I did that on purpose) especially with regards to old sins and new consequences.

Christine: I LOVE a good Google as well, to see what inspired the author.And it was real and it looked a bit grim. I don’t think I will look at another pier again, without thinking of this book.

That is why we love Tim Weaver so much. He brings so much to this series. The characters that recur like Craw and Raker’s new daughter are very well drawn. I feel I know them. I have a soft spot for Craw and the way she deals with David Raker.

Liz: Oh yes I LOVE her. He is a difficult person I’m not sure I’d cope with him but I’m a little in love with him all the same. I can’t wait to see how that relationship develops ESPECIALLY considering the ending of this instalment which was so emotive and oh man how much are we dying for the next one now? We could probably go on for decades about the whole gorgeous readability of them, but how about we finish off by telling people 5 reasons to read the David Raker books? You go first! I’m fairly sure our reasoning will be similar!

Christine:

5 reasons to read David Raker books

1. For David Raker  He is heroic, flawed, a loyal friend and father. Lovable and strong.

Liz:

2. For the adrenalin rush of the edge of the seat plotting

Christine

3. For the amazing heart thumping emotional impact

Liz:

4) Because life is too short to miss out on something this good.

Liz and Christine:

5) You need Raker in your life. Go get him!

We asked Tim:

Tim Weaver, you are the Master of plot twists and turns. I have never held my breath so much in stunned shock, at revelations. I am in awe and I am sure everyone else will be as well. How do you keep track of such an intricate plot?

Believe it or not, I don’t actually plan anything. I know, vaguely, what the central disappearance will be, and then usually how the book will end (and who the bad guy is), but everything else comes together as I write it. It’s both a blessing and a curse. The downside is that it’s hugely stressful trying to juggle everything when you’re letting the book grow organically (effectively you’re letting the characters go where they want to, and letting them dictate the plot to *you*), but the upside makes it worth it: because you have no idea where the plot is headed, you react to it like a reader would. That, I think, gives you an immediate sense of what would be a great twist (and what wouldn’t). Usually my thought process goes like this: “At this point, the reader will think the story is going in this direction – so I’m going to take it somewhere completely different.” Readers are smart – it’s hard to outwit them – so you use whatever advantage you can!

Thank you so much, Tim. I hope you have enjoyed our discussion. Let’s do more!

Find out more here: http://www.timweaverbooks.com/

Follow Tim on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/TimWeaverBooks

Buy the book! http://www.amazon.co.uk/What-Remains-David-Raker-Novel/dp/0718181670/ref=tmm_hrd_title_0

 

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Remains by Tim Weaver – A Discussion Part Two

  1. crimeworm says:

    This is really cool! We should do one of these! I’m always behind as Mr C constantly distracts me though!

Leave a Reply

