Friday On My Mind – Nicci French (Frieda Klein Book 5)

fridayonmymind

Published 2nd July 2015 by Penguin, Michael Joseph

When a bloated corpse is found floating in the River Thames the police can at least sure that identifying the victim will be straightforward. Around the dead man’s wrist is a hospital band. On it are the words Dr F. Klein.

But psychotherapist Frieda Klein is very much alive. And, after evidence linking her to the murder is discovered, she becomes the prime suspect.

Unable to convince the police of her innocence, Frieda is forced to make a bold decision in order to piece together the terrible truth before it’s too late either for her or for those she loves.

My thoughts

We get to Frieda’s Friday adventures Friday On My Mind in this wonderful series, from the Nicci French team. I am happily anticipating Saturday and Sunday.

The story starts very differently from previous ones. The police are investigating Frieda, convinced that she is responsible for the murder of her ex-boyfriend. It takes a while to get to Frieda’s point of view and to see where this will all go. It seems very bleak for her. There seems to be evidence pointing to guilt. Frieda ends up searching for the truth, in her own unique way.

It is good to be back in Frieda’s world and revisiting Josef, Chloe and of course Karlsson. I love Frieda’s gang of friends and the way they help each other out. They know she is innocent. Frieda is calm and cleverly follows the trail of those who knew and loved her ex-boyfriend. Who had motive to kill him?

I love the friendships, the pace of the story and how we get perspective of contemporary social issues, like homelessness and immigration. Frieda comes into contact with a wide variety of people and she never judges. It all feels very fresh and intelligent.

A marvellous addition to the series. I’m very much excited about the next book. I very much hope we get some kind of resolution with the Dean Reeve thread and we see Karlsson and Frieda get together.

Thanks to Netgalley and Penguin UK, Michael Joseph for my review copy.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friday On My Mind – Nicci French (Frieda Klein Book 5)

  1. crimeworm says:

    I must catch up – I’ve got Wednesday still to read. I love this series too. I’m savouring them, like I do with Jane Casey’s Maeve books! I need to get some hard-core reading done this winter!

    • Christine says:

      At least we are getting to rubbish weather season now. No excuse to do anything but read. These books are meant to be savoured.

      • crimeworm says:

        The weather here is still amazing – although it probably won’t last much longer! I thought the last few Nicci French standalones were a little weak compared to earlier ones, so it’s great to have them back on track with Frieda. The twist in the Monday book was SO clever; I’m still in admiration.

  2. I’ve only read the Monday and Tuesday books but very much enjoyed them. This sounds like a great concept for a Frieda book. I must look at continuing the series next year when I’ve finished with all my review books this year.

  3. Kay says:

    I will admit that I didn’t love this Friday book as much as I did the Thursday book. But, the Thursday book was quite intense. And I’ve discovered that with many of ‘go to’ authors, I occasionally have a book that I don’t love quite as much. That being said, this was a good one. And I’m so looking forward to the next entries in this series. I love all the characters.

  4. suzigun says:

    I agree with Kay’s comments – I didn’t think this was the strongest in the series, but I did really like the change in perspective at the beginning. Can’t believe we’re getting near the end of the series though!

  5. Looking forward to reading this one but I have to read Thursday’s Child first.

  6. Pingback: Sunday Morning Coming Down – Nicci French (Frieda Klein #7) | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

