The Girl With No Past – Kathryn Croft

Published on 15 October 2015 by Bookouture

girlwithnopast

Twenty years running from your past. Today it catches up.
A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive – kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until – longing for a connection – she meets Julian. For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life.

Then, on the twentieth anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed the life Leah has created.

But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.

My thoughts

Kathryn Croft brings us a delightful psychological mystery. In The Girl With No Past, we meet a woman who is recovering from an ordeal in her youth.

The Girl With No Past follows the rather sad reclusive life of thirty year old Leah Mills. Leah is single and content in her dull existence. She seems to be afraid to live, afraid of the past. She works as a librarian and fills her life with books. We see Leah tentatively attempt to start to build a social life and make connections with single men via the internet. This doesn’t exactly go to plan. The story jumps between the present and the past. When Leah was at school, she hung around with a group lead by Adam. What exactly happened to Leah in the past? And who wants to punish Leah for it?

I had a soft spot for Leah. Anyone who loves books can’t be that bad can they? Leah is a very credible character and her single life in London realistic. I loved the way we saw her carefully built low key life start to disintegrate.The narrative went between the present day Leah and a rather naive teenage Leah. We see Leah’s teenage friendships forming and we start to anticipate something really terrible.

I read this in a day and found myself totally engaged with the plot. Kathryn Croft has pulled off a very accessible mystery, that exceeded my expectations and shows her talent. The ending was just right!

Worth a read if you fancy a well paced mystery, on these dark autumnal nights.

My thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for my review copy.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Girl With No Past – Kathryn Croft

  1. I’ve got a copy of this book to read – looking forward to it!

  2. ireadnovels says:

    Sounds great. I have put this on my to read list.

  3. mokitadreams says:

    Just finished this book. I can’t understand how I was able to read it in one day. I’m an incredibly slow reader. Loved it so much.
    I think this has let me discover the genre that I have rather neglected.

Leave a Reply

