Are You Watching Me? – Sinead Crowley

Published 2nd July 2015 by Quercus Books

watching

Description

Dear Elizabeth,

I’ve been watching you

I hope to see you . . .

Soon.

Liz Cafferky is on the up. Rescued from her dark past by the owner of a drop-in centre for older men, Liz soon finds herself as the charity’s face – and the unwilling darling of the Dublin media.

Amidst her claustrophobic fame, Liz barely notices a letter from a new fan. But then one of the centre’s clients is brutally murdered, and Elizabeth receives another, more sinister note.

Running from her own ghosts, Liz is too scared to go to the police. And with no leads, there is little Sergeant Claire Boyle can do to protect her.

My thoughts

Earlier this year, I enjoyed Can Anybody Help Me?, the debut novel from Irish author Sinead Crowley. I’ve been looking forward to catching up with Claire and seeing how this series is progressing.

A drop in day centre Tír na nÓg is the centre of the action. Tom and Liz run the centre. Liz is employed as a Communications Executive, which seems to be a term for General Dogsbody. She becomes a media figure, highlighting the difficulty of the service users she encounters at the centre. She is soon the target for unwelcome attention.

A man is murdered, a vulnerable person who attended Tír na nÓg for support. All of the people at the refuge or connected to it, seem to have dubious pasts and secrets. Back from maternity leave, Claire Boyle is brought in to investigate the murder. On a personal level, Boyle is struggling with being a new parent and in her relationship with her husband.

This is a series that is definitely getting into its stride. I loved the focus on the day centre and its clients. We see how alcoholism, depression, lack of company and addictions lead people to the centre. I found it incredibly ironic that the face of the day centre in the media, was someone like Liz who struggled with the client group. She seemed to be in the wrong job, in spite of wanting to advocate for others.

The book worked because I was fascinated by the characters in the day centre and their issues, as much as the murder mystery. There were some interesting twists in the plot. I felt much more comfortable with Claire, and her grumpy ways. I love it, when you get that feeling of familiarity with a character.

Here is to more Claire Boyle and Dublin crime. A lovely balance of crime and social issues, with a great lead in Claire.

 

My thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for my review copy.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are You Watching Me? – Sinead Crowley

  1. Sounds like a great read. I’ve heard lots of good things about Crowley.

  2. crimeworm says:

    I must read this; I’ve not long read her (v promising) debut. Just need to review it now. I’m going to have to re-read, at high speed, SO many books and get their reviews up – I’ve been reading like a fiend. I need to have a rule whereby I’m not allowed to start another book until I review the last one. The problem with that is, it sometimes takes a couple of days for your opinions to fully form; in fact mine alter a bit sometimes. I’ve read so many brilliant books this year, my first full year of blogging! How will I pick out favourites??!

Leave a Reply

