Dead Eyed – Matt Brolly

Published 3rd September 2015 by Carina

deadeyedcover

DCI Michael Lambert thought he’d closed his last case…

Yet when he’s passed a file detailing a particularly gruesome murder, Michael knows that this is no ordinary killer at work.

The removal of the victim’s eyes and the Latin inscription carved into the chest is the chilling calling-card of the ‘soul jacker’: a cold-blooded murderer who struck close to Michael once before, twenty-five years ago.

Now the long-buried case is being re-opened, and Michael is determined to use his inside knowledge to finally bring the killer to justice. But as the body count rises, Michael realises that his own links to the victims could mean that he is next on the killer’s list…

The gripping first novel in a thrilling new crime series by Matt Brolly. Perfect for fans of Tony Parsons, Lee Child and Angela Marsons.

My thoughts

Well hello DCI Lambert!

The story takes us to the past and an unsolved serial killer mystery. When Michael Lambert was at university, one of his friends was brutally murdered. The victim has his eyes removed and a Latin phrase carved on his chest. The ‘Souljacker’ was responsible for a series of murders, all with this strange signature.

Michael Lambert, in the present day, is now ex-CID and ex-Special Group following a personal tragedy. He is a bit of a mess, with a crumbling marriage and a career on hold. Michael is a brilliant officer, who just needs a big push to get him back investigating. A ‘Souljacker’ style murder and a visit from an old friend, Simon Klatzky, brings Michael back. Michael is forced to cooperate with the official investigation, led by DCI Sarah May. He becomes a suspect in the case. Michael is on his own, seeking answers. He is being drawn deeper and deeper into the case. Who is the ‘Souljacker’ killer and why is he back?

I wasn’t expecting to love this as much as I did. We get an impressive fast paced serial killer thriller, that introduces tough but wounded Michael Lambert. The serial killer ticked many of my boxes, with his macabre, twisted way of killing his victims. The use of Latin phrases reminded me of that dark TV series Messiah. However I am not sure that many people of Lambert’s age would have any understanding of Latin. A nice chilling pseudo-religious touch though.

And I adored the beautifully damaged Michael Lambert. He was a force to be reckoned with, once he started looking into the new murder case. A real action hero. We meet his ex-wife, the people he was friends with at university and see his recent tragic history. Lambert is still a bit of a mystery, in spite of all of this. I find myself wanting more. This is a good sign with a brand new author.

Recommended. Dead Eyed is a promising and fast paced crime debut, that kept me cheering for the heroic Lambert and loving the darker twisted side.

 

 

 

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in noir, police, thriller and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dead Eyed – Matt Brolly

  1. crimeworm says:

    You’re getting me into serial killer books Christine! This is a new one on me, both the author and the book. Might get the fatal “Amazon sample”! Have you been looking at the Kindle Sale? There’s a few good ones there I’ve missed out on, so I’ll probably snap some up. And Happy New Year! I’ll send you a DM. xx

  2. Pingback: Dead Lucky – Matt Brolly | #crime #thriller #books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s