Dead Lucky – Matt Brolly

dead lucky

Published 11th January 2015 by Carina

A fast-paced crime-thriller, full of chilling twists, turns and grisly surprises, Matt Brolly’s Dead Lucky will have you gripped from beginning to end!

DCI Michael Lambert is back…

When a woman is murdered, the twisted killer forcing her husband to watch her slow and painful death, DCI Michael Lambert knows that his next case might be his toughest yet.

And when a second set of killings are discovered, with exactly the same MO, the race is on the find the lethal sociopath before he strikes again.

But Lambert never expected to receive an anonymous call from the killer. This time, it’s personal: if Lambert doesn’t find the murderer soon, his own loved ones will be next…

The gripping second novel in a thrilling new crime series by Matt Brolly. Perfect for fans of Tony Parsons, Lee Child and Angela Marsons.

Dead Eyed Book One of the series is reviewed here Dead Eyed

My thoughts

Recently I had the pleasure of reading Dead Eyed and meeting the rather delightful Michael Lambert. I was practically hyperventilating with excitement to discover Matt Brolly had a brand new Michael Lambert story for us. This is Dead Lucky!

Lambert and his new sidekick, Matilda Kennedy are on the case of a cruel brutal killer, termed ‘The Watcher’. A victim is made to watch the slaughter of his or her family. We see Eustace Sackville tied to a chair, watching his wife die a slow painful death. The Watcher starts making contact with Lambert and makes it personal. It is never a good sign if a murderer takes a special interest in you. What motivates ‘The Watcher’? And will Lambert make sense of it in time to stop future killings?

Michael Lambert returns to make sense of a challenging case. And we are finding out a little bit more about our heroic Michael. He is a loner. What a complicated life he has; with a new girlfriend and separated from a wife who has given birth to another man’s baby. I feel for him having those panic attacks. I just want to give him a hug.

I had a blast reading this. I could not devour it quickly enough. The pace is exciting and there is that beautiful sense of familiarity with Lambert. This book could still be read successfully as a standalone. Lambert’s life has moved on from the last book. I like him leading a team, with his own lone-ranger style apparent. The level of brutality is shocking, yet very gripping. I was holding my breath, as I was reading. I found the whole reveal of the back story to the crimes fascinating and realistic.

Fantastic stuff. A must read for any lovers of crime. Matt Brolly has a cracking series on his hands. He is an author to keep an eye on! Recommended.

 

 

 

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in mystery, police and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dead Lucky – Matt Brolly

  1. Great review! I love books like this. I’m adding it to my list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s