The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows – Marnie Riches

the girl who walked in the shadows cover

Published on 31 March 2016 by Maze/Avon

The third edge-of-your-seat thriller in the Georgina MacKenzie series. Fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo won’t be able to put it down!

Europe is in the grip of an extreme Arctic blast and at the mercy of a killer, who leaves no trace. His weapons of choice are razor-sharp icicles. This is Jack Frost.

Now a fully qualified criminologist, Georgina McKenzie is called upon by the Dutch police to profile this cunning and brutal murderer. Are they looking for a hit man or a frenzied serial-killer? Could there be a link to a cold missing persons’ case that George had worked with Chief Inspector Paul van den Bergen – two abducted toddlers he could never quite give up on?

The hunt for Jack Frost sparks a dangerous, heart-rending journey through the toughest neighbourhoods in Europe, where refugees and Roma gypsies scratch a living on the edge of society. Walking into the dark, violent world of a trans-national trafficking ring, can George outrun death to shed light on two terrible mysteries?

Links to previous books in the series: The Girl Who Wouldn’t Die and The Girl Who Broke the Rules

Amazon link to The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows available as a pre-order for 99p

My thoughts

Last year, I discovered the wonderful George McKenzie and fell in love. Marnie Riches completely blew me away with her ‘The Girl Who‘ Trilogy. The wait for The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows, which is the final instalment, is finally over. I am over the moon to report that Marnie Riches has done it again! George fans will love it!!!!

The Girl Who Walks in the Shadows takes us back into the life of George, who has now qualified as a Criminologist. In London and across Northern Europe, there is a terrible Arctic-like cold spell and an equally puzzling killer on the loose. Jack Frost is on the prowl. Children are being abducted and brutal slayings are taking place. Piet and Gabi Deenen, a rather unlike-able couple, find themselves coping with a harsh and critical media. Their two small children are taken from their garden, missing presumed something terrible has happened. This leaves the Deenens desolate and desperate for answers. Thankfully George is on hand to offer her expertise and her common sense. Who is Jack Frost? And what has happened to the missing children?

The story picks up two years, after we last met George. George is the same mouthy, down to earth girl, that we have all grown to love. It is a joy to see her back, tackling cases in her own unique way and doing a spot of police consulting. Riches delivers a story that packs in a great deal; from child abductions to corruption to torture and murder. This is not for the faint hearted. There is an overwhelming sense of coldness, which is reinforced again and again. Snow, ice and a bitter bleak winter landscape. This is a place, where hope is lost.

I LOVE ‘The Girl Who’ trilogy and George McKenzie. In The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows, we get a clever, dark and mesmerising story, with a fabulously chilling atmosphere and a few welcome surprises and shocks. Completely recommended. If you haven’t read this series yet and you are a crime fan, please seek it out NOW.

Thank you, Marnie Riches!

 

Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers for my early review copy.

 

 

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in mystery, noir, thriller and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows – Marnie Riches

  1. crimeworm says:

    I knew you’d read this IMMEDIATELY!! I had an idea of using icicles as murder weapons – I’m sure it’s been done before, but I’d put it by in my, “Stuff I’m working on…” folder as I thought it was an excellent weapon.

    • Christine says:

      You were so right! I got up at the crack of dawn to finish this and ended up so tired I put liquid soap on my electric toothbrush. Totally worth it!😍

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Christine! This review is a delight to read. Thanks for being so supportive!

  3. Pingback: The Girl Who Walked In The Shadows by Marnie Riches – BLOG TOUR EXCLUSIVE EXTRACT | #northern #crime #reviews

  4. Pingback: The Girl Who Had No Fear – Marnie Riches (George McKenzie #4) | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s