Little Boy Blue – M. J. Arlidge

51wtyvkOPxL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Published on the 10th March 2016 by Penguin Michael Joseph

Detective Inspector Helen Grace is no stranger to tragedy. But when a body is found in a Southampton nightclub, the death cuts too close to the bone.

Hiding her personal connection to the victim – and a double-life which must remain secret at all costs – Helen becomes a woman possessed, working her team around the clock to chase down every lead.

As the killer strikes again, the investigation takes its toll not only on Helen but also her senior officers. Tempers flare, friendships fray and Helen faces an impossible choice.

Confess her sins and lose control of the case? Or keep living a lie, protecting her darkest secrets, and risk getting trapped in this tangled web?

But whatever she does, this killer will not stop until the truth is revealed: there are some fates worse than death . . .

My thoughts

The latest Helen Grace novel is Little Boy Blue. I’ve been looking forward to getting my hands on this, for some time. I’m rather fond of Helen Grace and her secret life.

Helen Grace finds herself with a case, a little bit too close to home. A man is found dead at a BDSM club in Southampton. He is someone Helen knows. Helen being a very private person, cannot tell her team or her friend, Charlie Brooks. Helen can very much relate to the people in this case, with their secret lives and hidden issues. As another body is found, can Helen keep her secrets hidden? And can she trace the killer targeting the BDSM community?

I do like Helen and her secret double life. She deals with the demons from her past, by pain. In this book, I became increasingly frustrated by her inability to act sensibly and just talk to Charlie. Without giving too much away, Helen leaves herself open to all manner of mayhem by not trusting the right people and not covering her back. The cliffhanger left me on tenterhooks and the encounter with her creepy boss made me shudder. It’s all implausible, but very entertaining and exciting. I bet everyone who reads this, is dying to know what will happen next. We were just left on a cliffhanger, with events that suddenly took place. It feels like this is part one of a story.

This series has to be read in order. I think without knowledge of Helen’s past, it might not feel as coherent.

A. J. Arlidge, how could you leave us and Helen like that? I am now on countdown til the next book. A surprising, entertaining and shocking instalment in the Helen Grace series. Hopefully the next book will resolve my niggles, with the cliffhanger.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in mystery, thriller and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Little Boy Blue – M. J. Arlidge

  1. I just recently read Eeny Meeny and will pick up the next in April, can’t wait. I enjoy the secret life of her also but it does anger me that she doesn’t know how to bring in her team without revealing her own. I feel like this puts everyone in danger. Great review, I can’t wait to read more. You have flown through this series. Way to go.

  2. Kay says:

    I read EENY MEENY last year and actually own all the books that come after – including this one! Have I read them yet? No, of course not. LOL

    Thinking when I’ll pick up #2 and 3 and….

  3. Pingback: Hide and Seek – M. J. Arlidge | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

