Love You Dead – Peter James

518HEOsOpdL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Published by Pan Macmillan on 19 May 2016 and available here Amazon UK

My thanks to Midas PR for my  super-duper review copy.

An ugly duckling as a child, Jodie Bentley had two dreams in life – to be beautiful and rich. She’s achieved the first, with a little help from a plastic surgeon, and now she’s working hard on the second. Her philosophy on money is simple: you can either earn it or marry it. Marrying is easy, it’s getting rid of the husband afterwards that’s harder, that takes real skill. But hey, practice makes perfect . . .

Detective Superintendent Roy Grace is feeling the pressure from his superiors, his previous case is still giving him sleepless nights, there have been major developments with his missing wife Sandy, and an old adversary is back. But worse than all of this, he now believes a Black Widow is operating in his city. One with a venomous mind . . . and venomous skills. Soon Grace comes to the frightening realization that he may have underestimated just how dangerous this lady is.

Love You Dead is the gripping twelfth book in Peter James’ Roy Grace series.

My thoughts

So how do I  start to review one of my most beloved crime series in the whole world…

Peter James is back with a brand new Roy Grace story and I got my hands on a copy (YAY!). I am in complete fan girl mode over the latest Roy Grace. Love You Dead is number twelve and just proves James is a genius. I cried, I laughed and I empathised with a very disturbing and fun female killer. I took a trip around Brighton, with much affection. Yes Peter James has done it again!

The story starts with an alluring female serial killer and we discover what makes her tick. Jodie is a woman, in her thirties with a love of money. It is very understandable, that she might have to kill to get as rich as she can and fulfil her dreams. Well she is poor and it’s not easy getting loads of money is it? Obviously rich old men are her targets, preferably those on their last legs. Tapping at her keyboard brings the victims to her. Will Roy Grace catch her, before another poor unsuspecting single male falls prey to her charms? Inter-twined with this, we see a familiar professional killer is back in Brighton. Who is his mark? And what happened to Crisp who escaped justice in the last book?

I’ve long been a fan of Roy Grace and I cheer at this time every year. I love being back in Brighton with Roy and seeing his new little family. Great also catching up with the grieving and politically incorrect, Norman Potting and their evil nemesis boss Cassian Pewe. Plus the authentic feeling of proper policing in sunny Brighton is spot on. Marlon the fish is always a firm favourite of mine and Roy’s last connection to his former/missing/weird wife, Sandy. Fish are important.

This is everything I have been waiting impatiently for. I love the way it knits together, past stories and current ones and suddenly it makes a beautiful kind of sense. I finished this book with a massive grin on my face, a touch of shock and a heart full of sadness. I’ve been dying to talk about it. There is a delicious weaving of humour and pathos, as Roy hunts for the black widow and his past comes back to haunt him.

After Roy’s dramatic encounter in You Are Dead (number eleven) with Sandy, the rather selfish and odd missing ex-wife of Roy Grace, the truth comes out. YES IT DOES! We get a totally superb and satisfying conclusion. I wish I could say more. My lips are sealed! I think everyone will be very happy with the final resolution of the Sandy thread. It is what we have all been waiting for. It felt perfect to me. Well done, Mr James.

Peter James is truly a master of crime and has delivered the right ending for Sandy. I will be not be forgetting THAT in a hurry. Love You Dead is WONDERFUL and one worth switching off from the world for and diving into. You won’t regret it. Roy Grace is in a league of his own. My lovely book crush. More please!

Recommended (especially if you want to know what happens to Sandy)!

 

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in mystery, police, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Love You Dead – Peter James

  1. lollyrugs says:

    I’m also a huge fan of Peter James so can’t wait to read Love You Dead and I’m glad we get a conclusion to Sandy. Great review by the way

  2. Jane Risdon says:

    Oh can’t wait to read this. Love his books. Met him once and he was lovely. So we get Sandy sorted, grand. She’s been a pain.

  3. OMG I can’t wait to read this!! Hoping to get a copy for my birthday next week!

  4. I can’t wait to read this – sadly I didn’t get ARC this year because my reply went into spam folder but I have it on pre-order anyway and only a very little while to wait 😊 Anticipation is now sky high after reading your review!

  5. sherylbrowne says:

    Dittto! Your fabulous review has ramped up the intrigue. Thanks for sharing! 🙂 x

  6. Fabulous review. I love your enthusiasm. X

  7. Sounds like a fab read. I’ve never read any of the Roy Grace series so it’s quite daunting to have to start at the beginning.

  8. Pingback: Top 12 Crime Books of 2016 | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

