Daisy in Chains – Sharon Bolton

511r40DoEAL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

Published on 2nd June 2016 by Bantam Press and available here

Famous killers have fan clubs.

Hamish Wolfe is no different. Locked up for the rest of his life for the abduction and murder of three young women, he gets countless adoring letters every day. He’s handsome, charismatic and very persuasive. His admirers are convinced he’s innocent, and that he’s the man of their dreams.

Who would join such a club?

Maggie Rose is different. Reclusive and enigmatic; a successful lawyer and bestselling true-crime writer, she only takes on cases that she can win.

Hamish wants her as his lawyer, he wants her to change his fate. She thinks she’s immune to the charms of a man like this. But maybe not this time . . .

Would you?

My thoughts

Words fail me! I have just finished Daisy in Chains and I’m over-whelmed!

The story is a tale of justice and revenge, of murder and plus sized women. We have one rather dishy charismatic surgeon behind bars. Hamish Wolfe has been convicted of the murder of three larger sized women, a few years ago. It seems like a pretty open and shut case. Like many other infamous killers, he has a dubiously large female following and this is focused on. What makes women write to men behind bars? He invites slightly eccentric blue haired Maggie Rose, lawyer and author to seek the truth. He knows he is innocent. Hamish believes Maggie can find the evidence to over turn his conviction. She is well known for getting to the heart of crimes and helping convictions get quashed. Will Maggie help Hamish? Will she fall for his charms? Is Hamish innocent or guilty?

Sharon Bolton turns her mind to the strange phenomena of women who write to and befriend men behind bars. There are actually women out there, who think they are in love with men they have never met. These men are killers, locked away from society and rather dangerous. Some even marry them.This is all surreal. A very fascinating topic for a crime book and one that made my jaw drop. I cannot see the attraction AT ALL, well apart from the fact that you’d hardly ever see them.

My favourite character was Maggie Rose, with her blue rinsed hair and her body image issues. I tried not to imagine Mrs Slocombe from Are You Being Served? I failed miserably. Maggie is special. She is clever, aloof and obnoxious at times. I adored her. She really is the sort of lawyer, you want on your side. I was rooting for her. YES I was!

This is a Sharon Bolton novel. Prepare yourself for twisted and clever. Whether you guess some of it (like I did), this does not deviate from the actual brilliance of this book. Do not miss this one!

Totally recommended!

 

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in mystery, thriller and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daisy in Chains – Sharon Bolton

  1. I really like the look of this book, now I want to read it even more!

  2. I’ve read this one too and I totally share your opinion that this is a very recommended read! A great author.

Leave a Reply

