The Kept Woman – Karin Slaughter

51hIFDW0skL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

Published on 14 July 2016 by Century and available here

My thanks to the publishers for sending me a copy and making my day!

The latest novel in the Will Trent series from No. 1 bestselling author, Karin Slaughter.

A body is discovered in an empty Atlanta warehouse. It’s the body of an ex-cop, and from the moment Special Agent Will Trent walks in he knows this could be the most devastating case of his career. Bloody footprints leading away from the scene reveal that another victim – a woman – has left the scene and vanished into thin air. And, worst of all, the warehouse belongs to the city’s biggest, most politically-connected, most high-profile athlete – a local hero protected by the world’s most expensive lawyers. A local hero Will has spent the last six months investigating on a brutal rape charge.

But for Will – and also for Dr Sara Linton, the GBI’s newest medical examiner – the case is about to get even worse. Because an unexpected discovery at the scene reveals a personal link to Will’s troubled past. The consequences will wreak havoc on his life and the lives of those he loves, those he works with, and those he pursues.

But Sara’s scene-of-the-crime diagnosis is that they only have a few hours to find the missing woman before she bleeds out . . .

My thoughts

Make a date with The Kept Woman. Will Trent is back!

I am such a huge huge HUGE fan of Karin Slaughter. I have been wishing away the year, desperate to find out what happens next to Will and the gang. We need Will Trent and Sara Linton back in our lives. It has been far too long a wait. Two years, folks!

To best enjoy this book, you need to have read every single book in the Grant County and Atlanta/Will Trent series. I recommend you go out there and read them ALL. You will not regret it. You will probably fall in love with Will Trent. You have been warned.

So we return to dark crime in urban Atlanta, Georgia. Happily we see Dr Sara Linton is now working with the police, as a medical examiner. I have been secretly willing Karin Slaughter to do this. Good to see she was reading my mind. Will Trent is still partnered with Faith Mitchell, and their GBI boss is the irrepressible Amanda Wagner. Our team is together. They just need a dark, corrupt, bloody murder case to tackle. An ex-cop is found dead in an empty derelict night club, connected to a basketball player celebrity. The crime scene reveals that this man was not alone. Added to this is a link to Will Trent’s absent occasional wife, the very mixed up Angie Polaski. Can Will, Faith and Sara uncover what really happened in the night club?

I love the way Karin Slaughter gives us complex beautifully damaged characters. The Kept Woman very much focuses on Angie and what made her who she is. This was a resounding success, in my opinion. I think we needed more insight into Angie. I have followed Angie from the start, back in Triptych and I have to say, I am fascinated by her damaged messed up angry personality. Angie is a very believable. She is a product of abuse and neglect, of a terrible past in the care system. I can completely understand her obsession with Will and how she doesn’t want to let go, because of their shared history. Will Trent is her diametric opposite. He has come through hardship and it has made him a better person. He also had Amanda Wagner keeping a kind of motherly watchful eye on him and now the love of Sara. For Angie, life has sent her alone on a rather dark path.

As for Sara, it is fabulous to see her returning to her work with the police. This is where she is strongest. It was the right time. This will set her up for some wonderfully dark murdery adventures in the future with Will. I can see it now. We find her currently negotiating her fairly newish relationship with Will and his excessive baggage. Sara is stronger now, following her terrible grieving years. I do love the contrast, between the broken Sara (of a few books ago) and the current Sara. She is incredibly patient and loving with Will. I adore Will and Sara together, as a couple. I could gush non stop about Will and how lucky Sara is! She really is! I have such a Will Trent crush.

This is a beautiful, dark, twisted and complex crime read. Emotional at times, disturbing at others: it is amazing. I loved every moment and raced through it, at top speed. The weaving of past histories and current crime investigative events was incredible. We get to know more about Will and Angie, and see some delicious Sara thoughts. Fingers crossed that the next book gives Sara the attention she very much deserves.

Karin Slaughter fans, you will not be disappointed. Here is to plenty more Will and Sara stories! Karin Slaughter, at her best!

Recommended!

 

 

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in mystery, thriller and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Kept Woman – Karin Slaughter

  1. I’m a Karin Slaughter fan so yay :-). It’s been too long I read about Will already!

  2. Annie says:

    🙂 Yay! I’m still in book #3 but I’ll get there some day XD

  3. crimeworm says:

    I’ve got this one, but as I’ve mentioned in the past I’m not up to speed on the books, plus they are scattered all over the house, some in boxes – probably some missing. Do you think I can dive right in and read this? Your reviews are getting funnier all the time btw – I love the way you just say what you think! (No Lena?? She’s my favourite!)

    • Christine says:

      Oh yes dive in! Will Trent is lovely *sighs*… Funny as in funny brilliant? Hahaha!!!! … Lena hasn’t been around for a few books.

      • crimeworm says:

        Lena was a character! Yes – funny brilliant, plus funny as you say exactly what you think! I was at the doctor’s last week and he told me he was listening to Pretty Girls on audio driving to Glasgow for a meeting; he said as it was dark he had to keep putting it off as it was creeping him out, then he’d put it back on as he HAD to know what happened next! He’s a huge crime fiction fan; I lend him a lot of books from my collection!

  4. Pingback: Top 12 Crime Books of 2016 | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

