Peter Robinson Week – Q & A – Yorkshire With Banks

51pTqbcADmL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

The 14th Jul 2016 is the release date for the 23rd DCI Banks novel When The Music’s Over. A few fellow bloggers and myself are celebrating all week, with guest posts, reviews and general appreciation of a TOP crime series.

Today it’s all northern here on Northern Crime, with a gorgeous Q&A all about the setting of Yorkshire! Thank you, Peter Robinson.

 When The Music’s Over

In a remote countryside lane in North Yorkshire, the body of a young girl is found, bruised and beaten, having apparently been thrown from a moving vehicle.

While DI Annie Cabbot investigates the circumstances in which a 14-year-old could possibly fall victim to such a crime, newly promoted Detective Superintendent Alan Banks is faced with a similar task – but the case Banks must investigate is as cold as they come.

Fifty years ago Linda Palmer was attacked by celebrity entertainer Danny Caxton, yet no investigation ever took place. Now Caxton stands accused at the centre of a historical abuse investigation and it’s Banks’s first task as superintendent to find out the truth.

While Annie struggles with a controversial case threatening to cause uproar in the local community, Banks must piece together decades-old evidence, and as each steps closer to uncovering the truth, they’ll unearth secrets much darker than they ever could have guessed . . .

 

Yorkshire With Banks

As a returning reader I am always struck by the settings of your novels. At times Yorkshire almost appears a character in the books – a much loved character.

Yorkshire is, indeed, a much loved character. In fact, when I first started writing the series I had recently relocated to Canada and was feeling especially homesick and nostalgic. Writing about Banks and Yorkshire in the midst of a freezing Toronto winter was my way of staying in touch with my roots and re-imagining the place from a distance.

 

Did having Banks relocate to Yorkshire from London allow you to let Banks ‘discover’ the beauty of Yorkshire?

I think it did. I wanted him to be an outsider, the way I was an outsider in Toronto. When I revisited Yorkshire, which I did every year, I started to see it more as a tourist would. That’s partly why the earlier books sometimes view Yorkshire through rose-coloured glasses and dwell on the landscape descriptions. This is both Banks’s and my remove. I also saw things from a different perspective because of the distance—the class system, for example—and that also distinguished my books from the crime novels being written by people who lived here permanently and didn’t view things quite as objectively. Now I spend more time here, I find I don’t look at things so much through the eyes of a tourist any more.

 

 

To find out more about Peter Robinson check out http://www.inspectorbanks.com/

Author Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/peterrobinsonauthor/

When the Music’s Over can be found on Amazon here to buy and in all good bookshops

Tomorrow it’s all happening at Gordon’s place http://grabthisbook.net/ with ‘From Gallows View to When the Music’s Over’

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in police and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Peter Robinson Week – Q & A – Yorkshire With Banks

  1. Kay says:

    I’ve read only one or two of the books in this series. Sigh. Always mean to get to more of them because I’ve really enjoyed the ones I’ve read. At some point, right?

    • Christine says:

      I know exactly what you mean. I’ve dipped in and out of this series. I want to start from scratch one day. The latest is great though. Very easy to read, without knowing all of the history.

  2. Pingback: Peter Robinson week: A musical interlude – espresso coco

  3. Pingback: When the Music’s Over – Peter Robinson | #northern #crime

  4. Pingback: When the Music’s Over – Peter Robinson | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

