Try Not To Breathe – Holly Seddon

28248990

Published on 7th January 2016 by Corvus and available here

You won’t be able to put it down.
Just remember to breathe.

Alex is sinking. Slowly but surely, she’s cut herself off from everything but her one true love – drink. Until she’s forced to write a piece about a coma ward, where she meets Amy.

Amy is lost. When she was fifteen, she was attacked and left for dead in a park. Her attacker was never found. Since then, she has drifted in a lonely, timeless place. She’s as good as dead, but not even her doctors are sure how much she understands.

Alex and Amy grew up in the same suburbs, played the same music, flirted with the same boys. And as Alex begins to investigate the attack, she opens the door to the same danger that has left Amy in a coma…

My thoughts

Try Not Breathe hooked me completely because of the character of Amy. I defy anyone not to be both fascinated and appalled by what she has been through. Amy is stuck in her own little world, with her memories. I cannot imagine how terrible it must be to be locked into your head, needing stimuli and communication.

This is a story of two women, who are the same age. Both are suffering in different ways. Alex works as a freelance health journalist, who has lost her way turning to alcohol to deal with every day life. Amy is in a persistent vegetative state, after being attacked as a teenager. Alex meets Amy. Alex is very drawn to her. The attack happened in 1995 and we are meeting Amy and Alex in 2010. Alex turns investigator looking into the crime, using her ex-husband as a contact. Will the truth come out?

Alex annoyed me initially A GREAT DEAL. An alcoholic journalist, who wets herself is slightly unsavoury. I suppose we are meant to think that. It shows the level, she has sunk too. It felt realistic. However as I was reading, it occurred to me that it was a symptom of her depression. She just didn’t care enough to want to live or to fight for her dignity. Meeting Amy changes Alex and causes her to have a purpose again. I found it very moving thinking of Amy and Alex trying to communicate, two lonely women who need each other.

I enjoyed it, for its humanity and the growth of friendship between two unlikely women. It stayed with me, as I felt for Amy and her isolation. Worth a read, if you love a good mystery.

 

 

 

 

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in mystery, psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Try Not To Breathe – Holly Seddon

  1. I think I kept missing you at Harrogate!! Hope you had a great time! 😀

  2. I really liked this also. I hope there’s a sequel.😊

  3. Pingback: Spotlight on Holly Seddon – A Living Death | #northern #crime

Leave a Reply

