The Killing Files – Nikki Owen (Project Trilogy 2)

51rOz84ykjL._SX318_BO1,204,203,200_

Published on 2nd June 2016 by Mira and available here

No matter how fast you run, the past always catches up with you.
Dr Maria Martinez is out of prison and on the run.
Her mission? To get back to the safety of her family.
Little does she know that this might be the most dangerous place of all…
Don’t miss the second in Nikki Owen’s electrifying Project trilogy, perfect for fans of Nicci French and Charles Cumming.

Book One: Subject 375 PREVIOUSLY called The Spider in the Corner of the Room

My thoughts

We first met Maria in Subject 375 or The Spider in the Corner of the Room (as it was previously called). Maria returns in The Killing Files, part two of the trilogy. It really is important to read this trilogy in order and to share with Maria, a growing sense of what is happening. I have high hopes for the final part. Maria is up against The Project once again, battling those who seek to control and betray her.

Maria is now free from prison and is living anonymously in Spain. She allows herself to be captured by The Project, in order to infiltrate them for classified information. Maria needs answers, to who she is and what the Project wants with her. Maria has Asperger’s and is highly intelligent. We see the world through her literal and frequently amusing perspective. She uses her abilities and programmed skills to fight back. Once with the Project, she is abused and drugged by Dr Carr. Luckily she has a new friend in Chris, the hacker, as well some old ones. Maria finds that betrayal is closer than she ever imagined.

I love the whole world created by Nikki Owen, from the kick-ass action to the dodgy underground experimentation. It is very believable, that these kind of unethical experiments could take place covertly on individuals. In fact, I have read about exactly this sort of thing going on. Maria is manipulated by drugs and is placed as a child, into a situation where she has no say. It is a chilling world, where subjects are dehumanised. No one could feel anything but empathy for Maria and what she has gone through.

With plenty of action, excitement and thrills, I recommend this trilogy to anyone who loves a bit of conspiracy. Maria is a unique memorable character and her take on the world is amazing. The Killing Files is a delight. I will be counting down, til the final instalment.

 

 

 

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in thriller and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Killing Files – Nikki Owen (Project Trilogy 2)

  1. I love this series and can’t wait for the final instalment!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s