Breaking Dead – Corrie Jackson

516sdk7a8vl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

 

Breaking Dead was published by Twenty7/Bonnier on 8 September 2016 and is available to buy here

For fans of Kimberley Chambers and Jessie Keane, this compelling thriller uncovers the dark side of high fashion.

Newspaper journalist Sophie Kent is hanging by a thread following her brother’s suicide, her personal life in chaos.

When the mutilated body of a Russian model turns up in an upmarket hotel on the eve of London Fashion Week, Sophie recognises her from a recent interview and knows she could have saved her. Eaten away by guilt, she throws herself headfirst into the edgy, fast-paced world of fashion with one goal in mind: to catch the killer. Only then can she piece her grief-stricken self back together. As she chips away at the industry’s glittery surface, she uncovers a toxic underworld rife with drugs, secrets, prostitution and blackmail. Battling her demons and her wealthy, dysfunctional family along the way, Sophie pushes her personal problems to one side as she goes head to head with a crazed killer; a killer who is only just getting started . . .

Read our chat with the lovely Corrie Jackson with Liz of http://lizlovesbooks.com/ and me : Crimefest 2016: Meet the authors with Corrie Jackson

My thoughts

I cannot say that I am in any way interested in the glamorous life of fashion and models. London fashion week doesn’t even register on my horizon. Yet Corrie Jackson cunningly made me fall into the world of Sophie Kent and want to know more. This is a place where hidden beneath a veneer of glamour, there is pain, suffering and a whole lot of devilish goings on. Breaking Dead is one that you should definitely be looking out for in bookshops!

The story follows journalist Sophie Kent as she starts to delve in the life of a model. It is London Fashion week and there is a killer, in their midst. Sophie is grieving for the loss of her brother. She is hurting emotionally, full of a sense of guilt and emptiness. This does not stop her trying to seek answers and justice for the murdered girl, she knew briefly.

Corrie Jackson’s Breaking Dead totally delighted me. I felt like I was reading something different, something intelligent with a terrible dark side that captivated me. This is a world where underage girls are sexualized, addicted to substances and exploited by an entire industry. It is the perfect setting for crime and evil. I absolutely loved Sophie, her undiluted pain and the way she doggedly follows the clues. She deserves another outing or two. There was great insight into journalism and door stepping members of the public. I could feel the realism of the newsroom. Plus Sophie’s teasing relationship with the Police amused me.

Action packed and poignant, Breaking Dead puts grit into the glamorous world of fashion. Definitely one to pick up if you want your crime with a touch of glam, on these cold winter nights! Recommended.

 

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in thriller and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breaking Dead – Corrie Jackson

  1. crimeworm says:

    I rather enjoyed this one! I’ve just read The Cuckoo’s Calling, which had some involvement in the fashion industry, and Galbraith (or Rowling) pillories it brilliantly. It’s such an obscene industry, which chews young girls up as models and throws them out. And the ludicrous money some designers charge. I have been reading that the fashion bloggers are getting one up on the £4 glossies – it is an industry where, if you’re not fast, you’re last. And the bloggers are way faster – and free! More power to the bloggers!

    • Christine says:

      Fashion bloggers! Well done them. Haha! I would be great at recommending hoodies and warm wool jumpers this season… I thought you had read Corrie’s book, Linda. It’s a strange industry with a skewed perception of beauty and totally ridiculous prices for clothes.. These people have no concept of a bargain!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s