Truth Will Out by A. D. Garrett – Blog Tour Review


Truth Will Out is published by Corsair on 3 November 2016 and is available to buy here

What is it all about?

A mother and daughter are snatched on their drive home from a cinema. The crime has a number of chilling similarities to a cold case Professor Nick Fennimore had been lecturing on. Then Fennimore begins receiving taunting messages – is he being targeted by the kidnapper?

Meanwhile, a photograph emailed from Paris could bring Fennimore closer to discovering the fate of Suzie, his own daughter, now missing for six years. He seeks help from his old friend, DCI Kate Simms, recently returned from the US. But Kate is soon blocked from the investigation… A mother and child’s lives hang in the balance as Fennimore and Simms try to break through police bureaucracy to identify their abductor.

Atmospheric, chilling, and full of suspense, the dynamic pairing of AD Garrett’s acclaimed duo, Fennimore and Simms, delivers a pulse-pounding plot that will keep you guessing until the very end.

My reviews of the previous books in the seriesBelieve No One and Everyone Lies

Hello everyone and welcome to my turn on the #TruthWillOut blog tour. I am a massive fan of this series and it is a joy to be asked to share my review!

My thoughts

It is no secret that I absolutely adore this series. A. D Garrett can do no wrong in my eyes. I was introduced to Fennimore and Simms a couple of years ago. I fell in love. It is great to get my hands on the Truth Will Out at last!

For those of you not familiar with the series, there has been a long standing thread. Nick Fennimore is a forensics professor and consultant. His wife was killed and his daughter went missing five years ago. Fennimore did not give up hope. He knows his daughter Suzie is out there. He traces her to Paris. We finally get resolution for Fennimore. He finds out what happened to Suzie. He has been so determined. It is a relief for the reader. I had my heart in my mouth. Be prepared for answers! It is EXCELLENT …

The story starts with Fennimore lecturing beautifully about a particular miscarriage of justice case and going through the DNA and fibre evidence. A mother and child are kidnapped from Manchester and held captive. Fennimore is still focused obsessively on tracing his missing daughter, Suzie. He is asked by a persistent journalist to look into a case. Kate Simms encourages him, to take his mind off the new Suzie evidence. Someone makes it very clear they want Fennimore involved in the Manchester kidnapping case. It is the kidnapper.

There is a great deal to follow and enjoy, as we join Fennimore and Simms. Kidnappings, deaths, missing people, gangsters out for revenge and the lovely promise of a romantic relationship between Fennimore and Simms. I can just see it.

This is one quality series! It has everything a crime fan could possible ask for, with a lovely dose of forensics. The Fennimore and Simms series just goes from strength to strength. I am recommending this to you all. You need to read this series! You will love it, as much as I do. Recommended!

A.D. Garrett is the pseudonym for prize-winning novelist Margaret Murphy, working in consultation with policing and forensics expert, Helen Pepper.

Follow A.D. Garrett on Twitter:


About Northern Crime

Reviewer with a mind of her own. This is a collection of book reviews, which started in 2014. Mostly crime and odd other genres thrown in. Some I loved. Some I loathed. You get the picture.
This entry was posted in contemporary fiction, forensic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Truth Will Out by A. D. Garrett – Blog Tour Review

  1. crimeworm says:

    Got this; looking forward to it even more now!

  2. Pingback: Splinter in the Blood – Ashley Dyer | #northern #crime

Comments are closed.