Sometimes I Lie – Alice Feeney

41cizir09dl-_sy346_

Sometimes I Lie was published by HQ on 23 March 2017 and is available to buy here

‘A bold and original voice – I loved this book.’ – Clare Mackintosh

‘Intriguing, original and addictive.’ – The Sun

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me.

1. I’m in a coma

2. My husband doesn’t love me any more

3. Sometimes I lie

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won’t be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it’s perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

My thoughts 

This is a tough one for me to review. I really didn’t get on with this. It was a quick psychological drama, that probably should have been entitled ‘The Girl in the Coma’.

It is the mystery of Amber. Amber is lying unconsious, in a hospital bed. We follow her thoughts, as she tries to piece together her life. She is in a world of her own; with a few members of her family visiting her and hospital staff providing care. How did she get there? Was this an attempt on her life? As she is a self confessed liar, how much of what she says can we trust? Amber has memory loss, which is rather handy. There are the usual misdirections en route to the truth. Plenty of secrets to be revealed and much to get your head scrambled.

I seem to be in the minority in finding Sometimes I Lie really rather average. It misses the believability factor. There is just too much thrown together and it gets very silly for Amber. On the plus side, the author does a good job of letting you into Amber’s world. I enjoyed the claustrophobic feeling generated by having the protagonist distanced from the world. Her commentary was interesting, at times.

Sometimes I Lie – a miss from me! I could be wrong. Read it for yourself and make up your own mind.

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes I Lie – Alice Feeney

  1. crimeworm says:

    Hi Christine, I hope you’re well! I really don’t think you are in the minority with disliking this one – I’ve read a lot of comments re the ending, which many people in one of the Facebook book clubs I’m in were completely thrown by. I really am not sure whether to pass or give it a chance….😏 xxx

Leave a Reply

