The Honeymoon – Tina Seskis

51xVDEY59fL._SY346_honeymoon

Honeymoon is published by Penguin on 1 June 2017 and is available to buy here

From the author of the gripping and haunting One Step Too Far, Tina Seskis brings us a new completely addictive psychological thriller . . .

***Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and Before I Go to Sleep – with a shock twist you won’t see coming***

There’s trouble in paradise. . .

For as long as she can remember, Jemma has been planning the perfect honeymoon. A fortnight’s retreat to a five-star resort in the Maldives, complete with luxury villas, personal butlers and absolute privacy.

It should be paradise, but it’s turned into a nightmare.

Because the man Jemma married a week ago has just disappeared from the island without a trace. And now her perfect new life is vanishing just as quickly before her eyes.

After everything they’ve been through together, how can this be happening? Is there anyone on the island who Jemma can trust? And above all – where has her husband gone?

My thoughts

Fancy a mystery set on a gorgeous honeymoon island? The Honeymoon could be for you, if your taste in crime mysteries runs more to the chick lit side.

The Honeymoon explores the weird relationships and life of Jemma. Jemma is a thirty something London professional, with an erratic personality and an obsession to get married. Jemma get involved with two brothers, Dan and Jamie. She ends up married to one of them and at a paradise honeymoon island. This is the honeymoon from hell, as Jemma’s starts to realise her mistake in committing to the wrong man long term. It becomes suffocating, spending time with her husband and trying to sort out her feelings. Jemma’s new husband goes missing at their five star resort. What has happened to him? Has Jemma’s quick temper got the better of her? Has he left her and their dreadfully unhappy honeymoon? What did happen to the missing bridegroom?

I must admit to completely loathing Jemma. We get to know her, as the story fluctuates between the past and the present. The present is the posh honeymoon, the past reveals Jemma’s complicated relationship with two brothers and her determination to get herself a wedding ring. She is the kind of woman that I think most readers will find hard to empathise with. She is erratic and rather immature, in her obsession with marriage and settling down. Her emotional intelligence is set at toddler level, unable to cope with the disappearance of a man who in the recent past drove her insane.

I shouldn’t have found the ending as hilarious as I did. I admit to a fit of giggles. The ending is dark, very dark! I doubt very much if anyone will be able to work out what happened to Jemma’s new husband. It is clever.

One to grab a copy of and sit around the pool with, with a cocktail or two. Might put you off honeymoon islands and make you want to go to *Brighton instead! *Other seaside towns in the UK are available.

 

 

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s