Dare To Remember – Susanna Beard

51GbhXLDZgL

Dare To Remember was published on 1 February 2017 by Legend and is available to buy here

Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley.

However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night?

As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there’s another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can’t escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along.

A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah

My thoughts

Dare To Remember is a rather promising debut by Susanna Beard. I was drawn to this, due to the subject matter. This is a tale of endurance and recovery. The story of one woman and how she copes with the aftermath of a horrific event.

We meet Lisa, a young woman who lives with very real fears. Lisa is an amnesiac, who has been attacked in her own home. Her best friend has been killed. The person responsible has not given a full account of what took place. We get to know Lisa as she is searching for a quiet life, undergoing counselling to recover her memories and trying to work out who she is now. The beauty of this book is that we see in very real terms how PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) can play out. This is the story of how Lisa moves on from this terrible time in her life and how she heals. I found her developing friendships with both of her neighbours, very realistic and heart warming.

I would have liked to have explored more of the horrors of Lisa’s attack. My preference probably for dark crime coming out here. This will definitely appeal to those who do not want gritty violence with their crime. We get to find out what happened to the best friends. Lisa does get a resolution and to move on with dignity through the restorative justice programme. We see her come through ‘Survivor’s Guilt’ and to find a kind of post PTSD peace.

Moving and intelligent. Well worth checking out. Susanna Beard is an author to keep an eye on.

Recommended.

 

 

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in psychological, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s