The Escape – C. L. Taylor

51GjHivZJgL

The Escape was published on 23 March 2017 by Avon and is available to buy here

“Look after your daughter’s things. And your daughter…”

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn’t.

The stranger knows Jo’s name, she knows her husband Max and she’s got a glove belonging to Jo’s two year old daughter Elise.

What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo’s own husband turn against her.

No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there’s only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.

The Sunday Times bestseller returns with her biggest and best book yet. The perfect read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Clare Mackintosh.

My thoughts

The Escape is the latest psychological thriller from C. L. Taylor.

The story follows a woman with agoraphobia and severe anxiety, as her life takes a turn for the worse. Jo is married, with a small child, Elise, and she works at the local university. Her relationship with her partner has deteriorated, mostly due to his lack of compassion for Jo’s mental health problems. He has stopped caring. One day a woman, Paula, approaches Jo and threatens her daughter. This moment leads to more disturbing activities, with a house search for drugs, Jo’s relationship collapsing and Jo fearing that her child will be taken away from her by the authorities. She goes on the run to Ireland with her daughter. Who is Paula? And who can Jo trust?

I really loved what C. L. Taylor did with Jo and how she created a delicious world of fear. I found the mental health side of the story strong and well researched. I would have liked this to have been more of the thrust of the book, rather than the escape to Ireland. It made sense that Jo would have difficulty, on a day to day basis with parts of her life that others take for granted. She is unwell and she tries her best, holding down a job and expecting support from her spouse. Well done on creating a believable, if somewhat slightly irritating character.

The story was let down by a total lack of suspense. I predict that most people will easily be able to guess from the start a huge part of the mystery. It seemed fairly obvious to me. Entirely too predictable. What a shame.

My verdict: Low on mystery, but highly readable.

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in mystery, psychological, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s