Top bloggers choose a #crime summer read: Emma at damppebbles.com @damppebbles

My name is Emma and I blog over at damppebbles.com. Damppebbles has been up and running since January 2016 and it’s gone from being a simple hobby to what some may call an obsession!  I’m all about crime fiction and rarely read anything outside of the crime genre (the odd horror novel every now and then, providing you count psychological thrillers as a subgenre of crime!).

DEED DOWN DEAD BF AW.indd

My Summer crime recommendation is the glorious Deep Down Dead by Steph Broadribb (published by Orenda Books).

When I first read this book back in January this year I was already convinced it would be my book of 2017!  There’s something about a bounty hunter (a kick-ass, female bounty hunter at that) traipsing across America to extradite a fugitive to the state of his crime that makes me think of extreme tropical weather, theme parks and American muscle cars.  All of those delicious plot points make me think of Summer! Here’s how I described Deep Down Dead on my blog:

Deep Down Dead is a seriously good book and one that all crime thriller fans should read.  I still can’t comprehend that this is a debut novel.  The writing is confident, skilled and oh boy, can Steph Broadribb tell a good story!  Her characters felt real to me.  The scenes I could picture, in crystal clear clarity, in my head.  If anyone is looking for a book to make into a movie then choose this one.  This book is destined for the big screen!  It’s so wonderfully American that I devoured it. 

Oh Lori Anderson, how I want to be you!  Ex-pole dancer turned bounty hunter Lori is the most likeable, most believable heroine I’ve met in a book in a long time.  She fights, she shoots, she beats herself up on a regular basis for not being a good enough mum to her daughter.  This woman carries a taser around with her for goodness sake, and she’s not afraid to use it.  Forget your Wonder Woman. Forget your SuperGirl. I want to be Lori Anderson.

 

Check out Emma’s review on Damppebbles.com

https://damppebbles.com/2017/01/25/blogtour-bookreview-deep-down-dead-by-steph-broadribb-crimethrillgirl-orendabooks/

To buy your own copy of Deep Down Dead head to the shops or to Amazon

About Christine

Welcome to my blog. #crime #thrillers #books Twitter @northernlass73
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top bloggers choose a #crime summer read: Emma at damppebbles.com @damppebbles

  1. damppebbles says:

    This is awesome! Thanks so much for asking me to take part, Christine ❤

  2. Pingback: Top bloggers choose a #crime summer read: Emma at damppebbles.com @damppebbles | damppebbles

  3. I am sold, adding to my wishlist immediately, it is a bonus that she is a female.

  4. I already had “Deep down dead” on my TBR but you’ve convinced me that I need to move it up the queue. In case you are interested in MY favorite crime read this year, it is “The bird tribunal” by Agnes Ravatn. My review: https://fictionophile.wordpress.com/2017/01/24/the-bird-tribunal-by-agnes-ravatn/

  5. Pingback: #BookReview: The Last Resort by Steph Broadribb (@crimethrillgirl) @OrendaBooks | damppebbles

Leave a Reply

