The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown – Baby Ganesh Agency Book 2 – Vaseem Khan

51NtUTsC9HL

The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown was published on 5 May 2016 by Mulholland Books

The second book in the heartwarming and charming Baby Ganesh series.

For centuries the Koh-i-Noor diamond has set man against man and king against king.

Now part of the British Crown Jewels, the priceless gem is a prize that many have killed to possess.

So when the Crown Jewels go on display in Mumbai, security is everyone’s principal concern. And yet, on the very day Inspector Chopra visits the exhibition, the diamond is stolen from under his nose.

The heist was daring and seemingly impossible. The hunt is on for the culprits. But it soon becomes clear that only one man – and his elephant – can possibly crack this case…

My thoughts

This year, I discovered the delightful and amusing Inspector Chopra series aka the Baby Ganesh Detective Agency set in India. I am now onto the second book The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown. They are such a pleasure to read.

The first book set the scene and introduced Chopra, his wife Poppy and established the detective agency. Chopra is a retired police officer, who loves hunting criminals and solving crimes. There is a tiny elephant as well, belonging to Chopra. He inherited the quirky Ganesha. Ganesha is a detective in his own right. In this follow up, the series gets going beautifully. Chopra and his wife are visiting a museum, when a major robbery takes place. The theft of a crown belonging to the Queen of England, that was on loan to the Mumbai museum goes missing. Chopra finds himself using his police skills, to hunt for a thief.

This is a highly entertaining crime series, with just the right dash of subtle humour. It feels like it has come into its own in book two. Chopra and his entourage are excellent. I just love it ALL … the Indian culture, the storylines and the resolution! Obviously, this is not dark gritty crime. It is the lighter kind of crime, done incredibly well.

Recommended. Especially for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Michael Stanley.

Advertisements

About Northern Crime

Reviewer with a mind of her own. This is a collection of book reviews, which started in 2014. Mostly crime and odd other genres thrown in. Some I loved. Some I loathed. You get the picture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown – Baby Ganesh Agency Book 2 – Vaseem Khan

  1. Pingback: The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star – Baby Ganesh Agency Book 3 – Vaseem Khan | #northern #crime

  2. Pingback: Murder at the Grand Raj Palace – Vaseem Khan (Baby Ganesh Agency Book 4) | #northern #crime

Comments are closed.