The Girl Who Got Revenge – Marnie Riches (George McKenzie Book 5)

51WsP3KCH5L

The Girl Who Got Revenge is published on 19 April 2018 by Avon and is available to purchase here

Revenge is a dish best served deadly…

A twelve-year-old girl is found dead at the Amsterdam port. An old man dies mysteriously in a doctors’ waiting room. Two seemingly unconnected cases, but Inspector Van den Bergen doesn’t think so…

Criminologist George McKenzie is called in to help crack the case before it’s too late. But the truth is far more deadly than anyone can imagine… Can George get justice for the dead before she ends up six-feet under too?

A heart-racing thriller packed with secrets, lies and the ultimate revenge, perfect for fans of Steig Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

The fifth gripping thriller in the Georgina McKenzie series.

My thoughts

Marnie Riches has done it again! Long may Dr Georgina McKenzie, criminologist and police consultant, continue to solve dark and dangerous crimes and kick ass in Amsterdam (or elsewhere)!

The Girl Who Got Revenge is the fifth in the rather thrilling George McKenzie series. I have followed this series from the beginning. It is a firm favourite of mine. It rocks. If you have not met George McKenzie, I suggest starting at the beginning and getting to know and love her. We get quality thrillers with two rather unusual and endearing characters; George, the cool, dual heritage, criminologist with street attitude and her hypochondriac Dutch boyfriend, Chief Inspector Paul Van den Bergen of the Amsterdam Police.

This time, George and Van den Bergen’s relationship seems to be cooling off. It has been a bit rocky, in recent years. George wants a hint of commitment, whilst her old fella is content with taking her for granted and being a doting grandfather. They seem to be poles apart. The age gap is starting to show. George is worried about her future. George is brought in, as consultant, by Van den Bergen, on a brand new case. Syrians have been trafficked and discovered in a truck, in the Port of Amsterdam. A child has ended up dead. Then there is the mysterious case of the very elderly men, with tattoos, dying. Van den Bergen is working on that one by himself, with his gut instinct leading the way. Can the pair track down the traffickers? How does this all link to the Second World War? Were the elderly men really killed?

I love what Marnie Riches has done with The Girl Who Got Revenge. However Van den Bergen and George need to move on from each other. I have come to that conclusion. We see their relationship, warts and all. I should say burps and all. Van den Bergen has serious wind. I cannot understand George’s attraction to a man who goes on about his health all the time. He is so self absorbed. Her feelings do not matter. I didn’t want them to be together. His talk of love seemed feeble. Just words. George deserves better. Paul Van den Bergen needs to man up.

Marnie Riches cleverly weaves the story of a group of men working in the resistance, in war torn 1940s Amsterdam. We get a lovely echo of the past and a reminder that some things never change. The story of refugees never goes away. Migration and emigration is a part and parcel of history. We see the reluctance for some to embrace refugees today, from certain characters. Intolerance and racism, directed at George. In the 1940s, Jews were forced to seek other places to live to get to safety. In Amsterdam today, we see people are escaping persecution in the back of lorries. Plus ca change.

As ever, the dialogue sparkles with wit and subtle humour. The relationships seem real, especially those between George and her dysfunctional family. I feel like George and Van den Bergen are old friends. The plot enthralls. Marnie Riches delivers one powerful read in The Girl Who Got Revenge.

Recommended.

 

Advertisements

About Northern Crime

Reviewer with a mind of her own. This is a collection of book reviews, which started in 2014. Mostly crime and odd other genres thrown in. Some I loved. Some I loathed. You get the picture.
This entry was posted in european, mystery, psychological and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.