A Killing Mind – Luke Delaney (DI Sean Corrigan #5)

51l-zOQjY2L._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

A Killing Mind was published on 17 May 2018 by Harper Collins and is available to buy here

The fifth novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series – authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

A serial killer stalks the streets…
In the darkest corners of London, a killer is on the hunt. His murders are brutal. Teeth pulled out. Nails pulled out. Bodies abandoned.

A detective follows his every move… 
DI Sean Corrigan of the Special Investigations Unit desperately tries to use his ability to understand the minds of killers before another victim is ruthlessly murdered.

A clash of dangerous minds… 
Corrigan is all too willing to take deadly risks to track down his quarry, but this time the killer has set a trap, just for him. Will Corrigan stop the murderer in time, or is he about to become a victim himself?

My thoughts

Corrigan is back! Hooray! I have been dying to get back into the dark and brutal world of DI Sean Corrigan. A Killing Mind takes us to the fifth instalment, in this rather brilliant series.

A Killing Mind can be read as a standalone. Some of the action does rely on prior knowledge. The author does a great job in making it all very accessible to new readers.

For those of you who have not met DI Sean Corrigan, here is a little re-cap. Corrigan is special. He was abused as a child. As a result of this terrible past, Corrigan can empathize with psychopaths and killers. More than that, he instinctively knows their motivations and their evil minds. He can read crime scenes, from the perspective of the killer. This gives him an edge, in solving crimes. He reminds me of a British Will Graham, from the Hannibal TV series. Corrigan keeps this little secret to himself.

A Killing Mind pits Corrigan against a new psychopath. We meet him, at the start of the book. We hear his disturbing thought processes. This killer wants to make a name for himself. He wants the world to fear him. It all starts with the death of a vulnerable homeless man. Corrigan and his Special Investigations team are given this case. Dr Anna Ravenni-Ceron is brought back as a profiling consultant. This killer takes pleasure in the ritual of  murder and in extracting souvenirs. He removes teeth and fingernails from his victims. At the same time, a journalist is visiting Broadmoor to interview the infamous killer, Sebastian Gibran.

I absolutely adore Corrigan. He is one of those characters, that has masses of potential. I would like Luke Delaney to unsettle him further. To take away the comfort and support of his family. To make him really suffer. As we see in A Killing Mind, Corrigan is prepared to take crazy risks to hunt his prey. I can see this being his downfall. As soon as he meets our psychopath, he knows it is him.

A Killing Mind was gripping and tense. It shines with authenticity and maturity. We really understand our killer and what makes him tick. This series just goes from strength to strength.

Recommended.

 

 

 

Advertisements

About Northern Crime

Reviewer with a mind of her own. This is a collection of book reviews, which started in 2014. Mostly crime and odd other genres thrown in. Some I loved. Some I loathed. You get the picture.
This entry was posted in police, psychological, serial killer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.