Author Archives: Northern Crime

About Northern Crime

Reviewer with a mind of her own. This is a collection of book reviews, which started in 2014. Mostly crime and odd other genres thrown in. Some I loved. Some I loathed. You get the picture.

Open Your Eyes – Paula Daly

Open Your Eyes is published on 26 July 2018 by Transworld Digital and is available to purchase here Haven’t we all wanted to pretend everything is fine? Jane doesn’t like confrontation. Given the choice, she’d prefer to focus on what’s … Continue reading

Posted in domestic, noir | Tagged

A Killing Mind – Luke Delaney (DI Sean Corrigan #5)

A Killing Mind was published on 17 May 2018 by Harper Collins and is available to buy here The fifth novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series – authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met … Continue reading

Posted in police, psychological, serial killer | Tagged

The Old Religion – Martyn Waites

The Old Religion was published on 14 June 2018 by Zaffre and is available to buy here He was running from his past. She was running from her future. Sometimes helping a stranger is the last thing you should do … Continue reading

Posted in mystery | Tagged ,

In Bloom – C. J. Skuse (Sweetpea #2)

In Bloom is published on 9 August 2018 by HQ and is available to buy here Darkly comic crime sequel to Sweetpea, following girl-next-door serial killer Rhiannon as she’s now caught between the urge to kill and her unborn baby … Continue reading

Posted in comedy, serial killer | Tagged

Ruin Beach – Kate Rhodes (Ben Kitto #2)

Ruin Beach was published on 14 June 2018 by Simon and Schuster and is available to buy here *** FROM THE ACCLAIMED AUTHOR OF HELL BAY *** DI Ben Kitto is missing the excitement of his old job in the Murder Squad, as … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary fiction, mystery, police | Tagged | 1 Comment

Find You In The Dark – Nathan Ripley

Find You In The Dark was published in paperback on 19 June 2018 by Atria Books and is available to purchase here In this chilling and disquieting debut thriller perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s Hidden Bodies and Jeff Lindsay’s … Continue reading

Posted in psychological, serial killer | Tagged

After He’s Gone – Jane Isaac (DC Beth Chamberlain #1)

After He’s Gone was published in June 2018 and is available to purchase here You think you know him. Until he’s dead. When Cameron Swift is gunned down outside his family home, DC Beth Chamberlain is appointed Family Liaison Officer: … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized